December Empties

decempties16

Kosé Medicated Sekkisei Lotion (360ml) – Made in Japan
I’ve stopped keeping track of the number of bottles I’ve gone through since rediscovering it a few years ago. This bottle lasted me four months.
Repurchase? Always.

Hadalabo Gokujyun Medicated Skin Conditioner lotion (170ml) – Made in Japan
Mentioned in my last skin regime update here. This was my first product from the Hadalabo Gokyjyun range. This medicated version has a alcohol/medicinal smell. It’s nothing offensive though and I was never bothered by it. I’m not sure this did anything for my skin, I reckon it would be more suitable for younger acne-prone skin type who aren’t necessarily breaking out from monthly hormones fluctuation. Usually blemish control products tend to be drying but I never felt that with this. The Gokyjyun range are formulated with hyaluronic acid and the world ‘gokyjyun’ pretty much means ‘extreme moisture’. This medicated range is a relatively new member and I think is an interesting range to try if you have problem skin. The only challenge is perhaps locating it, I got mine online from alphabeauty (not affiliated).
Repurchase? I will try the Premium Rich one next.

ettusais Premium Amino caviar cream (90g) – Made in Japan
See detailed review here. I’ve had help from the Man with this cream, plus I was using it as both my day and night cream so it was finished in a record two months.
Repurchase? Nah. I like it but with so many other choices out there I don’t like it enough to repurchase.

KOJI Line beat 24h Long Lasting eyeliner in Dark Brown – Made in Japan
2mm diameter and waterproof, which is pretty standard with these type of gel liners. I have used up one of these before. This is long-lasting and doesn’t smudge (whichever product I use I always powder after lining my eyes though). The dark brown is not a deep brown so your eyes look quite natural and is perfect if you want the no makeup look or if you find black to be too stark and dramatic on your eyes or complexion.
I find most of these type of gel liners to perform similarly, especially those with the same single-direction twist-up mechanism. These are less prone to budging on me than pencil liners like those from Urban Decay or anyone else.
Repurchase? Yes.

Yves Rocher Exfoliating Shower Gel in Organic Vanilla (200ml) – Made in France
With “100% natural fruit seeds”, containing “organiac bourbon vanilla extract, apricot kernel powder, coconut powder, botanical cleansing base”. pH balanced and paraben free. This scrub/shower gel can be used daily, it’s not one of those heavy-duty scrubs that demands a lot of work/rinsing. On the other hand the gel is on the thin side, so you tend to pour more out than you need. This tube didn’t last very long for me. Generally the shower gels from Yves Rocher tend to get used up really quickly.
Repurchase? No.

And, this is not a used-up but a dried-up:

canmake-liner2
Canmake Hyper Slim Gel Eyeliner in Black – Made in Japan
I don’t know how many grams of product there is in this (not stated anywhere) but I know how much you actually get: 3cm
I bought this in February this year, as part of this haul. This is the first time I had a gel liner dry up on me like this. Maybe I bought old stock, who knows. You hardly get much with the 2mm ones and this is 1.5mm. The last 1.5mm pencil I used up was one from Visée. In fact if you take a look at this empties post you’ll find some nice comparison photos of various black eyeliners.
Repurchase? No and I’m unlikely to buy 1.5mm pencils again.

Various Samples:
Hoping to downsize before the move I’ve finally tapped into my stock of samples. I’m pretty pleased about my progress in general, then again most sample packets give around 2-4 applications so it’s not that difficult. You’ll see a lot of lotions, serums because I’ve used those two big bottles up. I used to not bother with lotions but I’ve come to really appreciate them the last few years and I do feel that they make a difference.

decempties16-a
banila co. Miss Flowers & Mr. Honey Cream
Wasn’t like anything that I expected – it’s matte, colourless but opaque. Has a really thick, balmy texture but ‘thins’ out slightly when it’s in contact to the skin so a lot less friction is required to rub the product in. Smells faintly of honey.
This reminded me of one of those silicone heavy primers back in those days. Only this is much thicker. Honestly I’m not sure what I think about this. The sample packet is too small to tell how effective it is as a skincare, but I’m really not sure if I got over the texture …

decempties16-b

I’ll start with the bottles, which are deluxe samples:
Suqqu Moist Flow Lotion (15ml) – Made in Japan
This is lightly scented with the same floral smell in their face foaming wash. I LOVED this. This is a viscous lotion with body, I applied this with my hands and it’s really comforting and moisturizing. Skin felt plump and fresh afterwards and I really felt I’ve prepped it properly for the rest of my skincare.
Full size purchase? Definitely. But I should probably check the price first …

IOPE Bio Essence Intense Conditioning lotion(18ml) – Made in Korea
Some of you might remember I had a full-sized bottle of this. Long-story short that bottle was broken (glass) and the precious liquid spilled everywhere. I can’t say I saw any significant results while using that though. Same with this little bottle here. So either I haven’t been using it properly (I was using it as my first essence immediately after cleansing) or it’s designed to be used in conjunction with something else from IOPE or it just didn’t work on me.
Full size purchase? Nah.

Onto packets:
Suqqu Moist Flow Lotion (2.5ml), Made in Japan: See above
Suqqu Moisture Repair Essence (1ml), Made in Japan: White, cream-type essence. This didn’t do anything for me.
Full size purchase? Nope
banila co. V-V Vitalizing Serum, Made in Korea: White, cream-type essence. It’s supposed to firm, lift & plump your face, probably giving you the ‘V’ shaped face. I have a few more of these that I’m still working with, but I can’t say I’ve seen any results regarding that. It sinks in quickly though.
Full size purchase? Probably not.
Lancome Advanced Genifique Youth Activating Concentrate (1ml), Made in France: A clear essence that gets absorbs quickly into the skin. Skin feels plump afterwards, but it also leaves it feeling slightly tacky to the touch. Which I guess is fine because you’re going to layer a moisturizer on top anyway. I’m surprised how much I liked this actually. Skin felt really moisturized.
Full size purchase? Yes … but *Oh this contains Phenoxyethanol, 10th ingredient*
YSL Temps Majeur serum (1ml), Made in France: Promising “high regeneration and sublime radiance”, this is serum is a very pale pink in colour and has fine shimmer (that’s the radiance part). This also left the skin feeling slightly tacky, not unsimilar to the Genifique. I had maybe two usage out of this so I can’t comment on the regenerating claims but I do think this would be a good serum for mature ladies, who would really benefit from that subtle glow after application. This is fragranced with the same perfume as the rest of the YSL skincare (floral).
Full size purchase? Nope.
Guerlain Super Aqua-Serum Light (2ml), Made in France: This promises “intense hydration” and “wrinkle plumper”. It’s also a white, cream-type essence. It’s not bad actually but didn’t blow me away. This is quite heavily fragranced.
Full size purchase? No. *Oh this also contains Phenoxyethanol, 11th ingredient*
Clarins Hydra Quench Cream-Mask, Made in France: This is a super white, floral-scented cream mask. I used it all in one-go and it was alright. Nothing to write home about.
Full size purchase? Nah.
by Terry Cellularose Brightening Serum (not pictured): A clear, liquid serum. The type of appearance and texture that I usually expect when I think of serums actually! And I really liked this one. Don’t know about the brightening claim but it’s moisturizes nicely and has a subtle rose scent.
Full size purchase? Definitely on the list now. I threw the packet out and am not sure of the ingredients.

Ingredients weren’t printed on the Asian skincare brands.

Leave a Reply

