Skincare Regime Update – December 2016

The last update was April and lots of changed since then. Pretty much everything I’m using is different!

skinregime-dec1

1. Hadalabo Tamagohada AHA+BHA mild exfoliating face wash foam (160ml)
2. Medicated Sekkisei lotion (360ml) – Made in Japan
3. Hadalabo Gokujyun Medicated Skin Conditioner lotion (170ml) – Made in Japan
4. Melvita Nectar Supreme eye & lip contour cream (0.5fl oz.) [almost 15ml] – Made in France
5. ettusais Premium Amino Caviar Cream (90g) – Made in Japan

1. I left my Muji foam cleanser behind in a hotel but I just want to say that cleanser worked well with my Luna. Bought this as a replacement and I don’t feel anything special towards it. I like that it dispenses ready-made foam so I save some time. I’m only *just* reading now that people have been reporting the cleanser drying their skin … perhaps that’s why my eye area have been itchy the past few days?? I’ve been using it for about two weeks now though only once a day until recently. Tamogohada = more or less the image of your skin will look like as smooth as a peeled hard boiled egg if you use this. I guess.
2. Still loving this and I will continue using this (although I’m tempted to try Albion’s Skin Conditioner). I still have one bottle of P50 left, which I’ll reintroduce when the weather gets warmer.
3. This is my extra hydration step and I’ll probably use a serum when this bottle is done, or one of the many packets and bottles of samples from different brands that I have. This particular formula (green bottle) of the Hadalabo Gokujyun range is supposed to moisturize and prevent pimples from appearing. Hormonal spots are something else so this item doesn’t really help me much there. I’m not sure if it’s sold in Hong Kong? I haven’t seen it anywhere I went (the usual suspects Watson’s/Manning/log-on don’t have it).
4. The formula is nothing special but this is my first experience with these kind of tips. On the days when I have time to slowly tap tap tap gently with the tip I do find a difference to just applying with fingers.
5.I took this with me to Hong Kong, knowing the weather is less dry than Paris. I was almost finished with my It’s Skin Snail Cream anyway and thought it’s a good time to open the next moisturizer in the stash. There are many little beads in the moisturizer (hence ‘caviar’) and you just have to make sure you rub all of them in. Sometimes there are strays and if you miss one they can appear as bizarre looking but perfectly round tiny ball of flesh. I’ve continued using this since I got back and interestingly it still does a decent job of moisturizing my skin in this completely different climate. I honestly didn’t expect it to perform this well. I’ll do a review on this separately.

I no longer have a really different morning/evening routine. Only that I throw in a makeup remover before the regular cleanser at night. That’s usually either of these:

skinregime-dec2

I like the oil better. The more I use Clean it Zero the more I find it a bit meh. The fruity scent probably has something to do with it too. The softymo removes makeup a lot faster and is more thorough than Clean it Zero. I don’t use a separate eye makeup remover when I’m using these and I’ll recommend using one if you use Clean it Zero.

And here are the supplementing skincare products:

skinregime-dec

1. I have been using the Iribiol serum from Biologique Recherche especially over summer and found it to be a revelation in helping breakouts. Sorry I couldn’t bother going to BR’s official site but here’s a blurb I found from a retailer online:

Biologique Recherche Serum Complexe Iribiol is a balancing serum that helps to regulate sebum secretion and tightens the pores. It is made with Iris and Zinc extracts for customized treatment of skin imperfections. It is recommended for skin imperfections, acne prone, combination and oily skin.

It’s one of those products that balances your skin instead of just addressing superficial problems. When I was using it I really felt that my skin was reacting to it, it was less shiny and the areas where I concentrated on were indeed less prone to breakouts. I’m not sure if my pores are tightened but what I like also is that there are only seven ingredients in this (ok alcohol denat. is the second) but Zinc and Salicylic Acid is the fourth and fifth and I’ve been looking for something with more zinc in it for a long time. I’m taking a break from it now only because my winter skin doesn’t really breakout much and I reckon I don’t need it.

2. I’m still working on the Caudalie Glycolic mask. Hopefully it’ll be done soon cos it’s been around too long. This is quite mild and gentle.

3. Then I have the Moritaya Tofu Mask to follow the glycolic mask. I’ve been taught to always follow with a moisturizing mask whenever I use a cleansing one since I was 19 or 20. The idea is the cleansing would have cleared the skin and prepared it to better absorb the moisturizing properties and other good stuff in whatever mask you follow with. You don’t always have to use a cleansing mask beforehand but you should always follow with a pampering one. I actually prefer using cream/spread-on masks more than sheet masks although I do have more sheet masks at home.

I believe Moritaya really does make tofu but they seem to have really branched out to the world of skincare. Last time I was on the Moritaya website there was a video showing you how to use the mask and the lady was using probably five times as much as I do. I’m not stingy and do apply a thick layer, thick enough that the skin doesn’t show. But that lady was on a whole different level. Anyway the instructions recommend daily use after cleansing but I’m lucky I get one in a week. However each time I use it I do feel that my skin is plumped and hydrated. So I do like this and it’s not expensive (not supposed to be anyway) either.

Ingredients (found on Amazon):

Water, rice bran oil, glycerin, hydrogenated rapeseed alcohol, pentylene glycol, caprylic/capric trigyceride, stearic acid, polyglyceryl-2 disostearate, dipotassium, glycyrrhizate, phenoxyethanol, carbomer, potssium hydroxide, tocopherol, hydrogenated lecithin, honey, soymilk ferment filtrate, lactoferrin, perilla extract, butylene glycol, soybean seed extract, natto gum, yogurt filtrate, royal jelly extract, titanium dioxide, silica, alumina, squalane, dextrin palitate, carrot root extract, alcohol, fragrance.

Leave a Reply

