A couple of Lush products

I bought a couple of things from Lush sometime ago. I was out shopping for a new shower gel/soap and walked by a Lush and though “It’s been a while since I tried anything from Lush. Maybe I’ll give it a go.” Let’s just say I doubt I’ll be in a hurry to go back.

I didn’t take pictures so you’ll just have to take my word for it but I feel strongly enough to do a post on them.

I bought a few things, Flying Fox shower gel (I bought one of the last big bottles left in the store – so this should give you an idea when this happened), Jason and the Argan Oil shampoo bar and the Fig and Leaves soap. Oh and the Ayesha mask.

lushfig

Fig and Leaves soap looks so promising. From the UK Lush website: “A gentle, mildly exfoliating and sweet soap that protects and comforts. This soap is packed (and wrapped) with figs and their leaves, which not only smell gorgeous, but also gently buff your skin. It’s so mild, it can even be used on the face; your skin is left feeling soothed and softened by fig seeds and aloe vera extract.”

Ingredients:
Rapeseed Oil and Coconut Oil, Water (Aqua), Glycerine, Fig Decoction, Fair Trade Organic Aloe Vera Gel, Perfume, Ylang Ylang Oil, Orange Flower Absolute, Aloe Vera Extract, Titanium Dioxide, Sodium Chloride, EDTA Tetrasodium Etidronate, Sodium Hydroxide, *Benzyl Benzoate, *Linalool Lilial
(* = occurs naturally in essential oils)

In reality however, the soap is really soft and disintegrates really quickly. What was cute before (the fig leaf and bits of fig + seeds in the soap) because a nuisance because the bits don’t melt and they end up in the shower waiting to clog up the drain. The leaf was the worse. The shower looked really gunky afterwards. The smell was nice and I didn’t find the soap drying, but it’s almost like it melts in front of me every time it’s used in the shower. To be honest I didn’t mind it too much because by then I just wanted to finish it ASAP.

lushjason

Jason and the Argan Oil
My first experience with a solid shampoo. I’ve only used this twice and it went into the bin. Why? Because it stains. My hair (black) was stained but I didn’t know, and I went on to stain my pillow case (happened to be dark grey at the time). Now it’s a weird purple in the area where I lay my head and looks like some kind of discoloration. I don’t know if it’s my hair type or what because none of the reviews I’ve read mentioned this. It was also quite stripping on my hair.
Also while I don’t mind the smell, it’s really potent. Before I used it, I can smell it when it’s hidden inside of the bathroom drawer. After I used it the smell lingered and my husband announced he’s not a fan. I felt this bar is all gimmick and no substance. I hesitate to say this because I no longer have the bar to confirm but I *think* there are sparkly glitter inside. Perhaps I remembered wrong…

Ingredients:
Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Agar Water (Aqua), Argan Oil, Glycerine, Perfume, Organic Rose Absolute, Geranium Oil, Rose Oil, Sicilian Lemon Oil, *Limonene, Coumarin, Citronellol, Geraniol, Colour 17200

Which leaves me with the Ayesha mask and Flying Fox shower gel. The former didn’t leave much of an impression on me because I have almost zero memory of how I found it. Which I guess is a good thing as it means it can’t be *that* bad. For those sensitive to honey note that it’s the second ingredient.
As for the latter, like everyone else I was a fan of the scent (the Man wasn’t too keen though). Not sure why Lush decided to discontinue it, it seems to be one of their best sellers. Not particularly sad to see it go personally.

All in all I find Lush to be overpriced. While it’s almost always fun to browse in their shops (if that Lush smell doesn’t deter you first) – you get to nudge nudge wink wink at those tongue-in-cheek names, play at the freshly mad mask bar, order some cut-to-order soaps to go – it gets a bit old and gimmicky in about 5 mins. But I’m not someone who’s partial to organic ingredients when it comes to skincare and beauty. And I’m not in their demographics anyway.

Leave a Reply

