June Empties

Enlight-4

Bifesta Cleansing Express Eye Makeup Remover (145ml) – [can’t find the fabrication country]
Here’s a link to the official website in English. It contains moisturizing ingredients and vitamins. I’ve used this before. It’s a double-layer remover that you shake before use. Very efficient at removing all types of eye makeup.
Repurchase? I use oil makeup removers now (and double cleanse) so a separate remover is a little redundant in my regime. But I definitely recommend this remover.

Biologique Recherche Lotion P50 (150ml) – Made in France
You can read about my thoughts on the BR lotions here. This lasted me 3 months with twice daily use, so the same as P50V. I still have a backup bottle of this but I’m going to take a break from acids because of my IOPE bio essence – I feel I should use that as my first step after cleansing and thus it’s not ‘compatible’ with an acid toner. I don’t feel ‘right’ applying P50 after the essence. Anyway! This will be a chance to see what P50/Bio essence does.
Repurchase? TBD

L’Occitane x Pierre Hermé Pamplemousse Rhubarbe Body Lotion (250ml) – Made in France
This was a LE, ‘a vibrant, tangy scent that blends rhubarb with Corsican grapefruit over a base subtly sprinkled with spicy notes’.
This would be a nice lotion for summer. Or if you live in a humid climate. I tend to prefer heavier creams and butters for the body and sometimes this lotion still left my skin feeling dry. I used up my heavy duty stuff but had all these ‘summer’ lotions lying around. I reckon the weather here isn’t getting any warmer soon so I better start destashing 😛
Repurchase? I really like the scent and wish they had this in a heavier formula.

St. Luke’s Prickly Heat Powder (160g) – Made in Thailand
Here’s the blurb on the bottle:

Enlight-5

I’ve had this for years and finally used it up. As it says, this powder gives a wonderful cooling sensation upon application. A godsend during those hot, humid, damp summer months. Since it hasn’t been really hot, I was using this after shower just on my feet and between the toes to help absorbing excess moisture and prevent any problems. But I’ve used this during peak summer, right after shower and just before bed and it keeps the body nice and cool until I doze off.
Composition of the powder:
Diphehydramine HCI 0.5%
Boric Acid 4.0%
Menthol 0.84%
Calamine 3.5%

These powders are dirt cheap. Especially in Thailand, where they come in enormous sizes and all sorts of scents. This is the original and it smells a little menthol-y but nothing more. The powder is tinged pink. I have another I bought in Bangkok and that’s got citrus essence and it’s tinged a pale orange, also smells slightly different. The original jar I have here is an export version and the used by date has a span of 5 years.
Repurchase? You betcha.

La Roche Posay Redermic [C] (40ml) – Made in France
Redermic [R] was something I used and enjoyed so I thought I’d try [C]. R = Retinol, C = vitamin C. This is an anti-aging cream for:

Deep wrinkles, loss of firmness and uneven complexion. Sensitive skin.
Dermatological expertise: Sensitive skin is characterised by a tendency to be more prone to redness. With ageing, this redness accentuates the loss of complexion uniformity and adds to wrinkles and loss of firmness.
Building on this expertise, La Roche-Posay laboratories have developed a formula for sensitive skin highly concentrated in Vitamin C, a recognised reference in anti-ageing for its efficacy to even-out the complexion, it helps to stimulate collagen production to reduce the look of deep wrinkles and fill-in the dermal mattress.
Its intensive action is enhanced by 2 active ingredients:
– Mannose, a densifying sugar, to optimize the interaction of light with the skin and visibly fade out irregularities on application.
– Hyaluronic acid to help smooth the skin immediately.
This formula still contains skin-restoring Madecassoside and Neurosensine, a peptide that relieves the discomfort of sensitive skin.
New: Its re-plumping, fresh and melting texture leaves a matte, velvety and non-greasy finish. Excellent make-up base.

I plucked that from the LRP website. Here are the ingredients:
Aqua / water, dimethicone, isocetyl stearate, glycerin, mannose, ascorbic acid, caprylic/capric triglyceride, butylene glycol, sucrose tristearate, potassium hydroxide, sodium styrene/ma copolymer, polymethylsilsesquioxane, steareth-10, madecassoside, sodium stearoyl glutamate, hydrogenated lecithin, hydrolyzed hyaluronic acid, caprylyl glycol, tetrasodium edta, acetyl dipeptide-1 cetyl ester, xanthan gum, acrylates copolymer, acrylates/c10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, phenoxyethanol, parfum / fragrance

Hmmm all I can say is I didn’t see any visible results. They seem to have changed the packaging, good for them cos I didn’t really enjoy this aluminum tube. Always afraid of it bursting somewhere and spewing products everywhere.
Repurchase? No.

It’s Skin Mangowhite Cleansing Foam (sample) – Made in Korea
I’ve used up all 3 packets of these. It has that similar formula where it foams up a lot and rinses super squeaky clean. The product itself is a golden beige colour with random black bits like seeds to exfoliate I imagine. You feel them but they are not harsh on the skin. It has a very pleasant fruity scent. From the picture I guess the mango part refers to mangosteen.
Repurchase? If I live in Korea, I’d definitely go check out the full range.

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion Anti-Aging (11ml) – Made in USA
This is the old packaging, I bought it right before the current packaging arrived here in France. The current packaging combines this squeeze tube with the stick wand from version 1. I suppose in theory you can get more of the product out when it comes to the end.
I chose anti-aging (the most expensive!) cos I figured I’ll be using this everyday so why not get some skin benefits? Unfortunately it didn’t do anything special that I noticed.
I didn’t actually finish this tube, but it was separating and had random balling up issues and was giving me more problems than help. The same thing happened with NARS, although that one didn’t separate. Took that as a sign that it’s time to say bye.
Repurchase? No. I’m using Too Faced Shadow Insurance, because I like their packaging and the dispensing hole is finer than UD’s so I have more control. In terms of formula and efficiency, personally I find them all to be very similar and none of them failed me. So I’m just going to go for the cheapest and the one with the best packaging for me, in this case the Too Faced.

Clarins Hand and Nail Treatment Cream (100ml) – Made in France
“Softens hands and protects against the drying effects of the sun, cold weather and hard water. Hydrates and revitalizes, helps minimize the look of age spots. Conditions nails.”
This absorbs quickly, has a mild herbal scent. Doesn’t leave hands greasy. It’s not quite heavy enough for me but I think for the majority of people this sort of hydration is sufficient. It’s more moisturizing than the scented L’Occitane hand creams, for comparison. Those have more of a gel type texture whereas this is a whipped cream. Can’t attest to the claims of age spots as I don’t have them but my hands didn’t look any brighter. Nothing special with the nails either.
Repurchase? This was a gift so I don’t know how much it retails for. I like my Nivea so I probably won’t be buying this. I do think you should try before you buy just because the scent isn’t for everyone even if it’s rather mild. Just don’t believe its claims and treat it as a regular hand cream.

Leave a Reply

