Small Korean Skincare Haul

The Man was in Korea for work and I slipped him a very modest list of stuff I’d like. I did some research online and while originally I wanted to get super high-end stuff from Whoo (so much cheaper) I decided against it lest I give the Man a fright. These are best done on my own or with the gals. Korean beauty shops are known for giving out samples and I’ll include those as well. Here’s what he managed to pick up:

Banila Co.

Enlight7

Read so much about these I wanted to give them a try. Purity is for sensitive skin.

I have a couple of things from banila co. (the BB and CC primer) and while they didn’t wow me, they are budget-friendly decent products. I wanted to get the honey cream too but I have so many creams at home and (also on this list), plus I’m not 100% sure how I’ll react to honey, so I thought I’d wait another time. Luckily they threw a sample packet of it in:

Enlight6

One packet of the Miss Flower & Mr. Honey cream (I don’t like this name) and a good handful of the V-V Vitalizing Serum. I haven’t looked into the serum but from the name I imagine this is supposed to help achieve that “V-shaped face”, the perfect oval shape. Generally a smaller and delicate face is the ideal.

Belief:

Enlight5

I wrote about the sample I finished here. Samples given are:

Enlight4

A packet of the same cream and the Hungarian water essence, which I think is supposed to be one of their best sellers too. I this is like a best-of sample set they give out to everyone, which they’ve prepared beforehand. I don’t mind getting the cream again, I can use this on the plane 🙂

SU:M 37:

Enlight3

The Man commented that this is the priciest item on the list (lucky I didn’t put the Whoo stuff ). From what I’ve read the Secret Essence is a product that’s similar to the famous SK-II lotion, but it’s cheaper than SK-II (I’m not sure of the prices TBH maybe someone can confirm)? This is their star product and some reported results I’ve read include smaller pores, evening and brightening skin tone, moisturizing/plumping of the skin.
SU:M 37 is a skincare range that uses fermentation science, and is all natural with no preservatives, fragrance etc. Here’s the official website in English.

Samples:

Enlight2

1 x Secret Essence
4 x Secret Repair Concentrate Cream
1 x Water Full Timeless Gel Cream
3 x Bright award Bubble De-Mask
1 x Signature essence D-Purifying (glass bottle!)

It’s Skin:

Enlight8

I bought their award-winning star product Creme d’Escargot and the ginseng version. Claims include fading of dark spots and scars, brightening skin tone and moisturizing/plumping of the skin. It’s Skin is the most generous with samples. I was shocked:

Enlight9

There were actually two of those Aloe masks but I’ve already used one (reviewed in March Empties post) before taking the photo 😛

And these:

Enlight1

That’s two boxes of snail eye masks, each box containing five packs (hmmm odd number)? I haven’t opened them yet but if each sealed pack contains only one sheet then yes you’ll have to buy two boxes to get an even number of ten masks (five pairs) for five uses.
[updated 7th Apri] I’ve since opened and used one packet and there are indeed two sheets for both eyes (of course). So I got 10 pairs 🙂

Laneige:

Enlight1(1)

He picked this up at the Duty Free to get rid of some extra Won. No samples.
I’ve started using the Lip Sleeping Mask since my lips were in a terrible state. I don’t know why I expected this to deliver an overnight cure, that was unreasonable on my part. There was no miracle of course but even with continued use (1 week +) I still haven’t seen anything impressive. Maybe I’ll try to put a balm under this?

And that’s all! The last time the Man was in Korea he bought me some IOPE stuff from the airport duty free and there weren’t any samples at all. I don’t know what the conditions are to get tax refund in Korea (in France I think you have to spend something like 150 euros in one go, ie. on one receipt to qualify), what the sales tax are and if it’s a lot cheaper at the duty free. This time he had a little more time and someone helped him with finding the shops. I’m sure shops differ and the amount of samples given out depends on the part of the city you’re in and who’s on the roster that day so YMMV.

Random info: belif, SU:M37 and Whoo are all brands under LG!

Leave a Reply

