March Empties

As usual I’ll get the finished hair/body samples out of the way first:
Enlight1

Nothing new to write about here. I’m almost done with all the samples, I think I’ve only got body lotions and cream left afterwards. Oh and soaps but I’ll get to those later.

Here’s the real deal for March:

Enlight1(1)

John Frieda Full Repair hydrate + rescue Deep Conditioner (250ml) – [unknown]
“With Inca Inchi Oil” it says. This ingredient appears in the middle of the ingredient list. First six ingredients: Aqua, Ceterayl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Behentrimonium Chloride, Cetyl Esters. Parfum.
You leave this on after shampooing for 2-5 minutes before rinsing off. My hair feels soft and silky after using this but we all know it’s the ‘cone. Smells nice but it doesn’t last on my hair. If you don’t mind ‘cones this is nice once in a while. I was using this almost everyday as a conditioner substitute and that was perhaps too much …
Repurchase? Nah.

Steam Cream (75ml) – Made in UK
I’ve had this for too long; left it at work for use mainly as a hand cream so that’s perhaps 1-2 a day, if that. However this is a multi-purpose cream that you can use for the face, body and even hair (just a tiny knob). I’ve used this once on the face but it was bad timing – I still don’t know what broke me out. Anyway you can read all about the cream on their website where they explain how the cream is made, why it’s steamed and the ingredients and so on.
I finished the rest of my jar using it as a body cream. I didn’t feel it so much when using on my hands but must say that I was impressed how quickly this was absorbed. And I mean I felt the cream has really sunk in, almost like my skin drank it up. It was moist and supple afterwards, and it lasted for a while.
This has lots of essential oils so if you have sensitive skin (or a sensitive nose! smells ) just be aware of that:

steam2
Repurchase? I didn’t think I would but yes, and I have. There was a promotion going on at the moment (2 for 26.95 euros, 1 is usually 17.50 euros each). Interestingly these are cheaper in Japan where they also come in a mini size and have more designs.
… I have since received my new jars and these ones are made in Japan. Also the best before date is very short – I have a few months to use them up, whereas when I bought the old one I had 2 years?! Ingredients are the same.

Yves Rocher Apple Delice Silky Body Cream (150ml) – Made in Ireland
Pretty happy to use this up in such a short time. This was part of my small 2015 holiday haul. This has a nice texture and smells like apple tart. The only reason I rushed to finish this is because of the scent – it’s comforting and more suitable for winter; probably too heavy for summer use. I used the same logic when I decided to save the Bronze Goddess souffle for summer. Anyway this has a nice formula and if Yves Rocher makes this in a different scent (they probably do) I wouldn’t mind buying those.
Repurchase? Yes

Onagrine Ona-Hydratant Rich Cream (40ml) – Made in France
For dry to very dry skin. With pomegranate, ceramides, omega 3 & 6.
This has a soft powdery smell like the scrub I wrote about last time. However this cream is a much better product and it’s quite enjoyable to use. I gave this to the Husband after his finished his Embryolisse and didn’t hear any complaints. It smells nice and is a nice no-frills face cream for winter. I used this as my day cream, the Husband used it as his night (he doesn’t like it and hence doesn’t apply anything during the day).
Repurchase? Certainly worthy of it.

Suqqu Refining Foam (30g) – Made in Japan
This is a sample size of their face wash that I got from 2014’s Holiday set (!) I didn’t open it until sometime last year when I was away for a trip and used to set it aside for trips because of the small size. Then I decided it’s hanging around for too long and I should really just use it up. Even then it took me a while to finish this little tube because you only use a teensy weeny amount each time (like literally a pea-sized amount) and it foams up really well like all Japanese foam cleansers do and rinses squeaky clean like others too. I’ve had foaming cleansers that left my face tight and uncomfortable immediately after rinsing off but this isn’t one of them. Still I wouldn’t recommend taking your time with the rest of your skincare after this.
Suqqu skincare has a very delicate smell that I love. I really enjoyed using this and for those contemplating splurging one tube will last a long long time.
Repurchase? Having said all that my answer unfortunately is no. Because as wonderful as it is it’s too pricey for what it is. Ladies, we have so many other choices in the simple foaming face wash category.

bliss Lemon + Sage Body Butter (200ml) – Made in USA
This is the last one from the three-piece set that was available for the 2014 holidays I think. I took forever with this but actually a tube doesn’t last very long with daily use (I went through the grapefruit one really quickly). I’ve always heard of bliss but have never been tempted to get anything until I tried a sample of this when staying in a hotel and loved it. However I felt the texture of the big tubes I got was different and I finally managed to dig my sample out and lo and behold the ingredients are similar but not 100% the same:

Enlight1

full size

hotel sample

It’s still a decent formula but somehow I prefer the older one (sample) which just felt more emollient, richer but still easily absorbed. The new one doesn’t really cut it in the winter for me and I often had to reapply shortly, or spot moisturize (ankles, etc) with something stronger. I just noticed that the sample is made in Canada. I don’t know if the difference lies in the country of origin, freebie hotel vs paid full sized, or formula change between the years I had the sample and the time I finally bought one. In any case I’ve been using the remaining product in the morning before getting dressed because it’s the least sticky/heavy body cream I have.

Enlight2

The scent is really nice and refreshing. My favourite was the blood orange one. I think these are nice in the summer months if you have drier skin, really perks you up and you can layer your other citrusy perfumes on top.
Repurchase? In spite of everything, yes I think I will one day 😛 But I think this will really suit someone who doesn’t have terribly dry skin or perhaps live in a warmer climate.

Physiogel Intensive (100ml) – Made in Ireland ?
This gathered dust in the drawer for years unopened. Originally intended to be a face cream as recommended by the derm but I used it as a body cream because of age. This is a moisturizer ‘rich in lipids’ and is recommended for severe dryness of the skin. Has shea butter No perfume, paraben, phenoxyethanol, color. For face and body. This cream helps protect, nourish, soften and heal the skin.
Can’t say how it performs on the face but I have a feeling it will leave it feeling greasy and not that comfortable. Worked nicely on dry scaly skin of my legs though. If you’re looking for a no non-sense type of moisturizer this is one of them. Doesn’t smell all that great – it is not perfumed but the cream has its own smell. Maybe this is what boredom smells like as you try to go through the tube ASAP.
Repurchase? No, only because I want something with more oomph and fragrance.

Biologique Recherche P50V (150ml) – Made in France
Started this in mid-December so this lasted 3 months with twice daily use. My last acid toner was the glycolic one from Peter Thomas Roth, I believe? I feel that this one is slightly milder than the PTR although if you have even mild flaky skin (like from blowing your nose due to a cold/hay fever and whatnot) this will sting like crazy. I used this once a day at night in the beginning to get accustomed first and then continued with twice daily use.
On the back of the bottle:

Lotion P50V is a vitamin-enriched exfoliating potion that helps to gently purify, tone, fortify, hydrate and rebalance the pH of the epidermis. Recommended for uneven skin tone and/or devitalized Skin Instants.

This bit of the empties post was getting ridiculously long so I’ve decided to do a separate post on the P50 lotions and won’t go into details here. I bought this with the goal of easing myself into the full strength P50. Generally I find this to be a nice acid toner, relatively mild. There are many different kinds of acids in the ingredient lists, first and foremost lactic acid. I experienced no negative reaction apart from the initial slight burning sensation when I first started using it and stinging on broken skin. I didn’t break out from using this either.
Ingredients:

Water (Aqua), Gluconolactone, Propylene Glycol, Niacinamide, Lactic Acid, Ethoxydiglycol, Vinegar (Acetum), Magnesium Chloride, Citric Acid, Malic Acid, Phytic Acid, Spongilla Lacustris Spicule Extract, Yeast Extract (Faex Extract), Cochlearia Armoracia (Horseradish) Root Extract, Capsicum Frutescens Fruit Extract, Juglans Regia (Walnut) Seed Extract, Arctium Lappa Root Extract, Rumex Acetosa Leaf Extract, Sulfur, Sodium Salicylate, Salicylic Acid, Sorbitol, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Metabifulfite, Sodium Benzoate

This smells like vinegar and looks and feels like water in terms of texture and ‘colour’.
Repurchase? As mentioned this was my introduction to P50 so I won’t be repurchasing the P50V. I think this would be a good choice for someone who’s first dipping their toes in acid toners. If you have really sensitive skin you should check P50W instead.

It’s Skin Aloe Soothing Mask Sheet (22g) – Made in Korea
This is one packet and one sheet of this aloe mask, which really impressed me with its essence content. This mask has a nice, thick texture and feels sturdy. It covers the face really well, the hole are nicely shaped, not too small or big. It also seems to be bigger than the ones I’ve used in the past, it just covers more. Good for ladies with a bigger facial surface area. I can’t read Korean so I don’t know what exactly the claims are. It is scented and it’s a smell of cucumbers. It’s very refreshing going on and I imagine it would be a wonderful treat in the heat of summer. They recommend you leave it on for 15-20 minutes. Skin is plumped and soft afterwards. There is some stickiness immediately but that will pass as everything gets absorbed. I rarely mention stickiness because it doesn’t bother me in skincare (I don’t like it in lip products). Pretty much everything else I use will be considered sticky by someone who hates this texture I reckon!
There’s a fair bit of essence left in the pouch and I’ve been using it as a night serum.
Repurchase? This is a GWP but I will definitely buy this if I get the chance.

Maybelline Full ‘n Soft Mascara in Very Black (8.2ml) – Made in USA [not pictured]
This is probably my favourite drugstore mascara. No drama, good everyday natural look. It gives my wimpy lashes some volume but since it’s not a Japanese mascara it doesn’t hold my curl. Says it “removes easily with soap and water” but I’ve never tried and just reach for my oil cleanser to remove all my makeup in one go. I haven’t really finished this, it was just getting old. If you prefer rotating mascaras on a monthly basis, best to stick with drugstore ones.
Repurchase? This is a really nice mascara, it’s cheap and I really do like it. It ticks pretty much all the boxes except the curl bit. Honestly I don’t know why I still buy non-Japanese mascaras. So I guess my answer is no, I won’t repurchase.

PDC Liftarna sheet masks – Made in Japan [not pictured]
Reviewed here. The fact that this comes in a pack of seven masks gave me the incentive to use this everyday for a week, so that’s a plus. The last remaining masks were soaked with the essence and there’s a fair bit left in the packet after the last one was out. I poured that out and finished using it as a serum before my moisturizer. There was probably enough for at least 4 more nights! I’m afraid I can’t gauge exactly how effective these masks were as I have items in my skincare that really pack a punch. I suppose my skin does feel less dry that usual, but then again if you’re using face masks everyday I’d expect that as a minimum. I’d say perhaps younger ladies would benefit more from this, I feel like my skin needs a little more targeted care to see a difference. This is a decent everyday mask and it’s available in a box of 30 (or something like that). I definitely prefer this over the box of Q10 mask I have opened but reluctant to use.
Repurchase? So many masks to try, so little time.

Leave a Reply

