Current Skincare Regime

Some time ago I wrote about my old skincare regime and promised to finish it with reviews on the moisturizers and special care items (this was the post that started this series). But I no longer see the point of that because most of the products have been reviewed separately elsewhere and in empties posts (search for Hydraluron, Toleriane, PTR Glycolic Acid moisturizer, Algenist for example). So I thought I’d share instead the current skincare routine instead. Before going to that though, here’s the old list again –

The Day Routine:
– POD Liquid Detox
– La Roche-Posay Serozinc / Darphin Intral Toner
– Hydraluron / Paula’s Choice Resist Ultra-Light Antioxidant Serum
– LRP eye cream / Shiseido
– LRP Toleriane moisturizer / Algenist
– some sort of acne treatment if needed (Effaclar Duo or topical treatment)

The Night Routine:
– 1st cleansing: Fancl Mild Cleansing Oil
– POD Liquid Detox
– Peter Thomas Roth Glycolic Acid 10%
– Hydraluron / Paula’s Choice Resist Ultra-Light Antioxidant Serum
– LRP eye cream / Shiseido
– Peter Thomas Roth Glycolic Acid Moisturizer OR Algenist (alternate evenings)
– Adapalene cream

I feel the need to bring that up again because it *is* responsible for kick starting the change in my skin. The most important players in that list are: Adapalene cream (I will write about this), PTR Glycolic Acid (especially the toner) and perhaps the POD cleanser. It’s important to finish with a good moisturizer. Eye creams are mostly the same I’ve found, memorable exception is the one from Astalift, really felt that did something.

Here’s more or less my current skincare:

skincare shelf

Picture taken on vacation, hence decants and rare opportunity to have them all displayed nicely on a glass shelf.

Day:
– (#2) Estee Lauder Perfectly Clean Multi Action Cream Cleanser
– (#3) Biologique Recherche P50V
– (#4) Kose Sekkisei Medicated Lotion (decanted)
– (#5) Nature Republic Snail Solution 70 eye cream
– (#7) Nature Republic Snail Solution 80 ampoule
– (#8) belif moisturizing bomb (sample size, see empties post here)

Night:
– (#1) softymo speedy cleansing oil or fancl mild cleansing oil (decanted)
– (not pictured) Neutrogena Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser
– (#3) Biologique Recherche P50V
– (#4) Kose Sekkisei Medicated Lotion
– (#11) Elizabeth Arden Ceramide Complex
– (#6) Shiseido Future Solution LX eye cream
– (#9) Bouclier Bio Detox day cream

#10 is a sunscreen from Bioré that’s light, non-sticky, easy to spread and watery – like  a lot of Japanese sunscreens. I do suspect that this has a bit more alcohol in it than the Allie one (a fave). But still, it didn’t dry out my skin or anything. This is a nice daily sunscreen for the city, while it does say PA++++ and SPF50+ I don’t feel it’s heavy duty enough for outdoor sports or the beach. I’d definitely reach for something more heavy duty.

I’m back on an Asian skincare routine after years of abandoning it and using products that are simpler and potentially less irritating (read: a lot of fragrance-free sensitive skin products from the pharmacy). In my experience they are good for basic maintenance but you won’t see any dramatic improvements or results if those are your goals. Exceptions are products like Redermic and Effaclar from La Roche-Posay. Ingredient-specific skincare.
Broadly speaking I double-cleanse at night, follow with a toner or lotion, then an essence or a serum, and finish with a moisturizer to lock everything in. Ideally I have time to do moisturizing masks 2-3 times a week, and once a week a deep cleansing mask that is always followed by a moisturizing one. This is a routine that’s been drummed in me for better or worse since I was young so it’s hard to shake the old habit.

#5 & #7 The snail solution stuff from Nature Republic are here only because I need to use them up. I feel like there’s a looong way to go for the eye cream though and it’s quite discouraging. I sometimes use the ampoule at night in place of the ceramide. But before I emptied the bottle I used it on my neck.

At night, I dust on the Snow Beauty powder from Maquillage when I feel like it.

For me the major players are the toners, P50V and the Sekkisei. I feel that my skin is softer and more supple. It’s not perfect and it never will be perfect but honestly it’s not too bad at the moment. I feel like I can get away without using foundation on most days (unless there’s a special event). I could use some help with under-eye circles as I haven’t been sleeping well. I get less spots now (could just be winter though) and when I do they’re not the big angry ones. Consequently my concealer has been collecting dust for a while now.
I also feel the blackheads are more manageable. I haven’t been using Effaclar Duo + in a while, perhaps I should, just to give everything a boost.

I’ve stopped Adapalene for more than a year now and when I do get spots I dab on Pan Oxyl.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

