L’Occitane x Pierre Hermé

CO_Co_PierreHerme

image taken from L’Occitane site

So this is a collaboration that’s been released for a couple of months now. I believe it came out November perhaps? I didn’t notice too much of a fanfare but that could just be me.

For those who don’t know, Pierre Hermé is a world renowned pastry chef. He makes some of the best desserts and pastries ever. Ever. EVEEERRRRR. I can’t stress this enough. You might have seen, wherever you are in the world, a cake/dessert in your country made with two pink macaron shells, in between them a cloud of pink cream and a round of juicy looking raspberries. On top of the pink macaron sandwich is a decoration, I’d wager it’s a raspberry and very likely, a rose petal as well. The classic flavours of this is rose, raspberry and lychee. If your local shop claims this is their invention, they are LIARS. Pierre Hermé invented this dessert like 20 years ago. He called it Ispahan, after the city renowned for its Damask rose.

So L’Occitane did a collaboration with the house of Pierre Hermé, using some of the flavours he has developed for his desserts. There are three varieties, Jasmine/Immortel/Neroli, Pamplemousse/Rhubarbe and Miel/Mandarine. I believe they are all LE products, but still widely available at the time of writing.

Anyway I have been gifted with a couple of products from this collection, and having further smelled all the scents in a L’Occitane shop I declare my clear favourite to be the Grapefruit & Rhubarb combo. L’Occitane really should consider turning this scent into a permanent range.
I confess I was probably already biased – not a big fan of jasmine or the immortal flower to start with, honey and mandarin is fine but no match for the sparkling grapefruit.

I have the body cream and hand cream in this scent.

ph

L’Occitane hand creams, like Diptyque candles, are some of the things that are duds to me but that everyone else loves. Diptyque candles are not what they used to be some 10+ years ago when they truly burned cleanly and evenly. My last purchase was in 2013 and I’m done with them, even if they do have some very nice scents. At the price they’re charging, there’s simply no excuse and I’ll advice anyone who is willing to listen to move on. I know every blogger in the world has them but they really are overrated. I’ve since turned to Cire Trudon for my splurges and find that more rewarding. Luckily my candle addiction/obsession seems to have been cured… But I see I have gone off topic!

Ok to be fair, L’Occitane hand creams are ok if you don’t need much moisturizing, or for summer use. Or general daily use if you live in a hotter and more humid climate. I just find them average and not that interesting for the price. My work demands that I wash my hands constantly and sometimes use harmful chemicals so I need some TLC. The only product from L’Occitane that I find helpful for my hands is the shea butter range.

Now having said all that, you must think I hate this hand cream. But I don’t, and it’s mainly because of the smell. It’s just so invigorating and fresh. It *is* mostly grapefruit but you do get a hint of the rhubarb on the hands. Fades quickly though. The texture is very light (too light for me) but it does provide some immediate relief before you can run and get your heavy duty stuff – if that’s what you need. Most of the hand creams in this handy size share a similar formula so it’s mainly a game of choosing your favourite scent.

As for the body lotion, I haven’t really dipped into it knowing it’s rather light and that I favour a heavier formulas especially at this time of the year. I think this will be wonderful when summer comes. I’m using the balms and butters now, but am saving a few products for summer, like bliss lemon + sage body butter (despite its name it’s simply not heavy enough to be called a butter IMHO) and the Bronze Goddess souffle from last year that I have yet to finish.

Leave a Reply

