2016 Pan that Palette Challenge

Right. Thought I’d give this panning thing another go. Last time I attempted any panning was when I did Project 10 Pan (I called it 2 x 5) two years ago, which went alright for skincare and stuff but terribly for makeup (the finale is here). I hit pan on a couple of things and between then and now I might have added 2 or 3 products, that’s all. Terrible.

The only makeup items I consistently finish/hit pan on are:
– brow powder
– brow pencil
– traditional pencil eyeliner
– gel pencil eyeliner
– powder foundation (I hit pan but I might have only finished 2 so far in my life)
– eye primer
– under eye brightener
– lip balm

Mascaras I rotate and change often for hygienic reasons but never because they’re bone dry.
I struggle with everything else.

For 2016 I’ve decided to challenge myself, and I’ll attempt to pan stila ‘In the Know’ palette. A little (very) ambitious really, considering I don’t wear eye shadows to work. And this is nowhere near being a favourite palette of mine. But I don’t know what else to do with it. I actually kinda regret buying this … As you can see in the picture it’s pretty much unused except for some marks left from swatching. Anyway this palette is no longer available because stila has been revamped. And I saw AmberF (links to her video on panning ‘In the Light’) on Youtube mentioning stila palettes are soft and easy to pan so I thought I’d jump in.

‘In the Know’ is an all-matte palette:

stila-itk01b

I’ll probably be able to give my final verdict on this palette afterwards. But for now, my very late first impression of this is I have no idea why I bought it (ok, I think it’s because it’s all-matte and because of the shade ‘fire’). Ignoring ‘fire’ and ‘ebony’, the shades that are left can be divided onto either side of the light/dark spectrum. And each side look pretty similar to each other. The variation is very subtle. The shadows are soft and you can easily over blend them and make everything look muddy. And looking at the lighter shades, there are potentially three I can use as an all-over lid colour. Hmmm!

Just for fun, here are the pans I have at the moment. Compare the BB Saddle below with the one in the link to the Project 2×5 pan above:

pans

So the powder foundation on the left is my new fave, Maquillage Dramatic Powdery UV bought last year. Fastest pan ever. The one on the right is a really old one from Lunasol. I guess I still keep all my old powder foundations around because the shades are all different and I use them to match  my skin tone.
The small beige shadow on the bottom left is Wet n Wild’s Brulee, which I use everyday as an all over shade even when I don’t put any other eye shadow on. I started using this back in 2013 and if I’m not mistaken have not stopped using it since. So what you see is 1.5 years’ of usage. 1.7g of product, that’s one solidly packed shadow. If I’m panning the stila though, I’ll probably use one of those lighter shades instead of this one …
The last item is the ever-present Bobbi Brown Saddle, 2.5g of matte dark brown I use for my brows. I’ve strayed and have been using brow pencils and trying other brow stuff for most of 2015.

I hope to finish one of the four items pictured above in addition to the stila palette. While I’m wishful dreaming, here’s hoping to finish a lip product or two (other than lip balm) as well. Or hit pan on a blush, haha.

Oh one last thing, when I say ‘pan’ I really meant ‘to hit pan’, not like empty the pan 😉 Baby steps!

Leave a Reply

