Previous Skincare Regime: Cleanser & Toners

This is Part 2 to this post, here I’ll be reviewing the core skincare regime I used that I felt helped my skin get back on track. A lot of the products are no longer in my current regime. This is because (1) as usual I started this post a long time ago (February!) and never gotten round to finishing it 😛 (2) I wanted to use up whatever else I have stocked up first before making repurchases, if any.
Because of this, I’m not able to take a nice group picture of the products below. In fact I can only show you 3 of the cleansers/toners mentioned. Not really worth showing, IMO. If you do a search though you should find most of them in empties posts here and there.
I’ll make another post of my current regime hopefully soon enough in the future.

I realised this can get really lengthy so I’ll just review the cleansers and toners in this post and do the moisturizers etc in another. Products with names in bold means I’m still using them/they’re still around.

The Day Routine:
POD Liquid Detox
– La Roche-Posay Serozinc / Darphin Intral Toner
– Hydraluron / Paula’s Choice Resist Ultra-Light Antioxidant Serum
– LRP eye cream / Shiseido
– LRP Toleriane moisturizer / Algenist
– some sort of acne treatment if needed (Effaclar Duo or topical treatment)

The Night Routine:
– 1st cleansing: Fancl Mild Cleansing Oil
POD Liquid Detox
– Peter Thomas Roth Glycolic Acid 10%
– Hydraluron / Paula’s Choice Resist Ultra-Light Antioxidant Serum
– LRP eye cream / Shiseido
– Peter Thomas Roth Glycolic Acid Moisturizer OR Algenist (alternate evenings)
– Adapalene cream

POD Liquid Detox
Back story: I first read about this on an Australian blog (logical since POD is an Aussie brand) and the blogger attributed improvements to her skin partly to this cleanser. Upon googling it I found more positive reviews but more importantly, discovered that POD was going out of business and was having a liquidation sale. So I bought 4 (or was it 5?) bottles of this. I’m no longer sure what the status of the company is as there seems to be some activity but the official website is gone.
I’ve reviewed this in the past and it’s in many of my ’empties post’. But just to recap POD claims to ‘cleanse, tone, exfoliate’ the skin thus ‘reducing blackheads, blemishes, sun damage’ so you’ll get ‘an even skin tone’. It achieves this with ‘a triple-enzyme that breaks down dead skin, dirt, make-up and the pollution of the day in a foaming cleanser that does not leave any residue’.
Among the ingredients are quite a few essential oils (fragrance), potential irritant for those with really sensitive skin.

I haven’t had any problems with this cleanser so far, and I’m onto my last bottle (yay!). I can’t say how effective it is at breaking down makeup because this is my second step of my double-cleansing at night and usually all makeup has been removed by the time I use this. Being critical, I’m somewhat doubtful about the claims of this cleanser… If I’m getting less blackheads I’m going to attribute it to the PTR glycolic acid rather than this, because I ‘feel’ that one more, and I’m uncertain if the relatively short amount of time the cleanser is on my face is sufficient for it to make a visible and long-term impact. As for the pollution bit, well if you clean with a flannel for example, you will be removing dead skin and dirt whether you use this cleanser or not.
However! Having said all that I do enjoy using this, and I remember feeling slight pricking way back in the beginning when I first tried it. Not sure what that means (enzymes working?) but I no longer have this sensation. All in all I think it’s a good cleanser. It’s low foaming and hasn’t irritated my skin.

Fancl Mild Cleansing Oil
Previously reviewed here and was recently in last month’s empties. This is my favourite cleansing oil. For comparison, I have reviewed other cleansing oils I’ve tried in this post. It can make my eyes blurry but I really get in the lashes with oils to get mascara and eyeliner off. It never stings, rinses clean without stripping the skin. Emulsifies nicely, it doesn’t have any scent.

Bonus: Bioderma Crealine Micellar Water
Whenever I use this I’m amazed by how much dirt is on my face. I like the convenience and cleansing power. Great for travel too – when on a long-haul flight, I take everything off with this so I can do all my skincare at my seat. I know they say no-rinse but I always do (Evian spray when on the plane), since micellar waters contain detergent.

La Roche-Posay Serozinc
I used to mist this as a toner/freshener like I did with my bottle of Melvita rosewater. Recommended use for Evian and other water sprays include using it this way, before applying your moisturizer. Serozinc did nothing for me so it’s an over-hyped product in my book. Perhaps zinc is more efficient in the form of a supplement? Reviewed here.

Darphin Intral Toner
This toner is targeted at sensitive skin but the first thing you’ll notice is that it’s pink, and quite heavily perfumed (a powdery floral). I wish I had known the scented bit before I got it (500ml bottle no less, as they were out of the smaller size at CityPharma) but I’ve gotten used to it now and am less bothered.
Honestly this is a very generic toner that’s not quite worth its price tag. I would recommend getting an unscented one instead. I haven’t had much luck with this brand actually and I think I’ll avoid from now on. I’m taking a break from this, I reckon I have a bit more than 100ml left??

Peter Thomas Roth Glycolic Acid 10%
This is potent. I still get a tingling sensation when I apply this sometimes but I’ve embraced this product in my regime and feel that it is one of the major reasons my skin has improved (the other is my prescription, Adapalene). I didn’t expect this to work so well. I’ve read reviews saying this is as good as Alpha H but cheaper. YMMV but I’ve almost finished my bottle, which lasted 6+ months with once daily use.

Moisturizers, serums and other special care products to come in Part 3.

Leave a Reply

