Clé de Peau Translucent Loose Powder

cdp-powder02

This has been my go-to loose powder for the past 10+ years. I started using it before they updated their packaging. The only reason I needed to get a new one was because I lost my old one – I was overseas when my family moved and nobody wanted to be responsible for my makeup/perfume and so I lost everything. It almost brings a tear to my eye whenever I think of all the goodies that could have been kept safe. But were instead thrown away. ;( Moving on!

The Clé de Peau loose powder is the smoothest and most finely milled powder I’ve ever used. Clé de Peau is of course, Shiseido’s top luxury brand, their Rolls Royce. I think other high-end brands are finally catching up in terms of quality but CdP has been doing this for yonks. The powders I used before this (like more than 10 years ago) was Laura Mercier’s, I also had a T. LeClerc compact in the famous shade ‘Banane’. I went from those to CdP and haven’t looked back since. Everything about this screams luxury, especially the packaging which is nicely thought out. It comes with a fine sieve mesh that you place on top of the powder. On top of this goes the screw on tray for the soft, velvety puff (which I do use from time to time, especially when my go-to puff needs washing but isn’t :p) and finally the lid which you also screw on to secure. I never have powder flying everywhere when I use this. There’s no shaking, I just dip the puff or my brush directly onto the mesh and that’s it. Just as well because this is one expensive splurge. I can’t remember how much it is and I think it’s better that way. It does, however, come with 30g of product. The Diorskin Nude Air one I just got for example has only half the weight (16g) and I suspect most loose powders are around the 10-15g mark.

diorair-powder05

The CdP powder looks a very light pink but it is truly translucent. It has very subtle and tiny micro-shimmer that keeps the skin from looking too matte and flat, but are indiscernible once the powder settles. It sets makeup beautifully and photographs well (I wore this on my wedding day), but oil control is not its forte. Meaning it performs like any other regular powder when it comes to keeping my oilies at bay, no more no less.
Regarding oil controlling/blotting powders, I got a few around September/October last year and so far none of them has really impressed me. I’m waiting for summer to do the real test and will report back.

You can buy the CdP in refills without the container but in this instance I do recommend getting it. Note though even with this nice set-up this powder doesn’t do well on travels. I can speak from experience that the powder will move on top of the fine mesh and once you unscrew the tray it goes *poof* and they will fly everywhere.

4 comments

  1. So pleased to have stumbled upon this post! I am trying to choose between Cle de Peau and Dior’s loose powders! I used to use La Mer’s powder in 03 Beige, but it has been discontinued. Which do you prefer and for what reasons? Is your skin clear of imperfections for the most part? THanks!

    1. Are you looking for tinted ones? As far as I know CdP doesn’t have tinted loose powders so you’re saved the headache and can head straight to Dior 😀

Leave a Reply

