Small Zoeva order

[I’ve edited this post to reflect my thoughts on these brushes having used them for a while – 08/Oct]

I only became aware of the brand Zoeva about two months or so ago. I’ve got most of my brushes covered but I did want to get something ‘generic’ – items that do not warrant heading towards shu uemura for, for example. This was my order:

zoeva1

First about the brushes. A close-up:

zoeva-2

I got a brow comb and a brow liner brush. I wanted to use these with the MUFE Aqua Brow. I have an old Bobbi Brown brow brush that I use with powders daily and didn’t want to mix that up with a cream product. These two brushes do their job and I’m quite happy with the performance of the brow liner in terms of precision, and it has the right amount of firmness. And I’ve always wanted one of these type of brow combs/brushes instead of using a spoolie. Really no complaints.

The only thing I will point out though is the brow brush is not weighted and is feather light, it looks and feels like a slim pencil (and cheap). I wasn’t expecting the weight so was surprised when I picked it up. Also the black paint on both of these brushes is glossy and not matte as I thought they were from looking on their website. The brow liner has more heft and is a black with silver sparkles, which I expect the other brushes to be. Just a heads up since you can’t tell from the pictures on the site.

Update: I’ve since washed and used the brow liner brush on a few occasions and unfortunately it doesn’t seem to be holding up well. The first few strokes with Aqua brow is nice and precise but when I start repeating the strokes the bristles divide into four to five separate ‘tufts’… like teeth on a comb but more spaced out. I can still get the colour on but it’s more shading than drawing, which was what I was shooting for.

Perhaps it’s the Aqua brow formula? Maybe it will perform better with a brow powder?

These brushes are 6.80 euros each so it’s not a catastrophe.

Anyway my favourite piece is the gate fold mirror. I’m taking this with me on my travels cos I hate doing my makeup in the bathroom (poor lighting) and my dingy compact mirror is just too small. This is slim, doesn’t take up space and stands on its own. Plus it lets me check out my profile haha.

zoeva-mir

The base can be adjusted so you can control the reclining angle. The same goes for the ‘doors’. One of them however is a little looser than the other. Just hoping it wouldn’t flop out completely eventually. This is 8.50 euros. There’s an inscription on the mirror that is a little kitschy and that I’m not 100% sure of. I’ll leave that as a surprise to those who order it.

Shipping was quick and the items are nicely packaged. The brushes come with their own little plastic zip-lock pouches. Very generously sized in fact and you can use them to put whatever you want or your own set of brushes when traveling. All in all I’m happy with what I’ve ordered, Despite the hiccup, I still think it’s a range worth taking a look at if someone’s just starting out on makeup, or on a tight budget. The other brand to check out of course is Real Techniques. These ones from Zoeva do look a lot more elegant, but don’t really know the range well enough to discuss the quality of their brushes howeverReal Techniques have some really fabulous ones and from personal experience they are work horses that can take abuse. Do leave a comment if you have tried Zoeva’s brushes, and especially their makeup!

Leave a Reply

