April Empties

Look what I found in my drafts… I thought this has been posted. Guess not.aprempt

Sorry pics are a little dark. These are my empties for April and a glimpse into what was my skincare routine. Well as far as cleansers were concerned anyway. I’m back to using La Roche-Posay Toleriane as my cleanser and my skin seems to like it better. I should do a skin care post one of these days …

POD Liquid Detox (150ml) – Made in Australia
From the POD website:

Uses a breakthrough triple enzyme derived from papaya
Gently breaks down dead skin cells without interfering with live skin cells
Accelerates skin renewal for a younger looking complexion
Helps dramatically reduce blackheads, blemishes, hormonal bumps, and sun-damage
No sulfates means this foaming cleanser won’t dry and strip the skin or leave a greasy residue
Gentle enough to use daily

From the box:

A 3-in-1 treatment that cleanses, tones and exfoliates the skin. Dramatically reduces blackheads, blemishes and sun damage, achieving an even skin tone.

First of all, POD has folded and no longer exists. I happened to read about this product on a blog, popped over to the website to have a look-see and saw they’re closing down and was selling everything at crazy low prices. This had a RRP of AUD$60. I think I paid like AUD$7.5 per bottle *ahem* I bought 4 bottles. Crazy when you consider that I never tried it before but my reasoning was my no-frills cleanser costs the same if not more so I really have nothing to lose. So what do I think?
Well it’s nice cleanser with a very pleasant, herbal, Aveda type of fragrance. The foam very mild and gentle, doesn’t leave my skin feeling stripped. When used according to directions (basically add water to product, apply onto dry face) I sometimes feel little stings on the left part of my face where I have more bumps/scarring. Don’t know what that means but I’ll just report as seen.

I like the scent and enjoyed using it while it lasted. It’s such a change from the no-frills Toleriane, you know? From the packaging, the scent, the texture, everything. Towards the end I was combining this with the Garancia (see below) and I suspect I may have overdid it – should’ve used either/or and not both at the same time. No harm was done, it just made it hard to gauge their performance. Anyway I guess the bottom line is I’m on the fence about this. The truth is I didn’t notice any significant changes to my complexion or improvements. I will pay more attention next time.
Repurchase? You can’t but I’m still not sure if you should if you could. For the time being I’m happy I didn’t pay retail for this.

Garancia Pschitt Magique (100ml) – Made in France
This is a cleanser that’s similar to the POD. It’s a ‘new generation micro peel, granule free with biological action’ that ‘acts in 30 seconds’. Like the POD you’re supposed to use this on dry skin. Once a day in the morning, 2 pumps in dampened hand and spread the foam all over the face avoiding the eyes. Leave for 30 seconds and rinse off. As with the POD I also sometimes feel a little sting on the left side of my face. Are the enzymes working? Who knows. The foam is light and airy but sometimes it left me feeling a little dry.

Btw, Garancia has a lot of crazy names for their products. ‘Pschitt Magique’ means magic spray. The latest one I saw is called ‘Tears of the Ghost’ for an eye product.

Repurchase? No, because again I didn’t see a difference and but this time it wasn’t cheap so I probably won’t buy and try again.

Lierac Dioptigel (10ml) – Made in France
This is a puffiness reducing eye gel. I don’t really suffer from puffy eyes, only on occasions when I’m really tired and didn’t get enough rest. I bought this because it was cheaper than the other one that claims to reduce dark circles and I didn’t really believe in any of those claims so I figured I’ll get this one for moisturising properties. Now for what it’s worth I did notice that my eyes were never puffy when I was using this. But the most surprising thing is I actually really like the texture of this gel. It’s a clear, thick gel that doesn’t go all watery when you start applying. It stays gel-like in texture, more like a gel/cream than a liquid and so I feel that it gets absorbed and then locks it in through a film.
Repurchase? Yes, it’s one of the better eye creams/gels out there in my opinion.

Melvita Conditioner for normal hair (200ml) – Made in France
Previously blogged about here.
Repurchase? Not in the near future.

La Roche-Posay Thermal Spring Water (50g) – Made in France
I used to buy the biggest Evian spray and use that to remove moisturising masks. Which was why I bought this I think, I was traveling and couldn’t bring that big spray along to use with my mask in cabin.

As far as I can tell the difference between this and Evian spray is the nozzle. This one is designed so that when you push down the nozzle points up so you get a fine mist of water in the air that will fall lightly onto your face. The Evian (and the majority of sprays out there) has a straight nozzle so that the water comes out level at whichever height you happen to be aiming from. I admit I find La Roche-Posay’s more user friendly and when you get it right it’s a really lovely sensation. But to be honest I don’t really care and it’s not a make or break detail.
Repurchase? If I need a spring water spray, why not? But I rarely find the need to use one nowadays. I think I prefer rose water.

Melvita Shampoo for frequent wash (500ml) – Made in France
Family size and it took ages to finish even with the combined effort of the Man. Previously mentioned here (same link as the conditioner one above).
Repurchase? Again not any time soon because I’m pretty bored with this one.

Just a word about my skincare routine at the time:
I get these tiny bumps on my skin and I incorporated these enzyme micro-peeling products hoping to curb them and keep them away. I would use for example the Garancia in the morning and Toleriane in the evening as my cleanser. Later I reversed this and used Toleriane morning and POD in the evening. After cleansing I use either a toner or a rose water spray before applying my moisturiser. At the time I was using something with mild Retinol.

I think the cleansers worked in the beginning but then afterwards they either stopped or I no longer noticed anything. I honesty doubt however that something that stays for such a short time on the face AND THEN be rinsed off could have a significant impact on the complexion. But hey, no harm trying right?

Leave a Reply

