Yves Rocher Organic Oats shower gel

This is my first experience to the Yves Rocher brand, a French brand that’s apparently one of the pioneers in their use of natural and plant-based ingredients. I’ve always thought it’s a French version of the Body Shop, but Yves Rocher was founded in 1959 whereas The Body Shop didn’t get started until 18 years later. Yves Rocher is also against animal testing.

Unrelated sidenote: The Yves Rocher Group owns Petit Bateau! I didn’t know that. I go to Petit Bateau for tank tops.

The two shops are really quite similar. They both have a large range of body care products, shower gels, lotions and creams that come in many different smells and flavours; a Hammam range with Yves Rocher, Spa for the Body Shop. However the Body Shop does have a bigger hair care range, makeup and other bath/body accessories. Yves Rocher isn’t as prolific and probably doesn’t have the same budget for marketing as Body Shop does (having L’Oreal behind certainly helps). In Hong Kong I remember only seeing Yves Rocher shops in obscure small shopping centers and never in a big, nice, pedestrian level boutiques like the ones for Body Shops. Here in Paris there are (of course) significantly more Yves Rocher shops than Body Shops. I could be mistaken but I think there are maybe 2 or 3 in Paris center. One thing though, they both send me crazy amounts of promotional emails in my mailbox, up to 3-4 per week sometimes. And it seems like they always have some kind of sales and promotion going on. Anyway.

I blogged about a small skincare haul I did on the Yves Rocher website just before the new year. The Organic Oats shower gel, as I rightly predicted, was the first product I dipped into.

The first thing that springs to mind about this is the scent. This has a type of clean laundry, cotton-y type of perfume that’s not unlike what you would find in say the Yankee Candle range, or maybe a demeter fragrance. I didn’t pop into a shop to smell them all before I made my purchase, perhaps I should have. The only one I did smell was the olive one (although in body lotion form) and that, I can confirm, is the more neutral smelling one. The fragrance in ‘oats’ is quite potent, so if you can, make sure you like the scent before buying it. It’s not what I imagined ‘oats’ to be, that’s all. But I’ve associated oats with Aveeno and their products are unscented. Anyway. I think Yves Rocher and the Body Shop tend to use a heavy hand when scenting their products so I would give the same advice if you’re planning on trying a shower or body product from either brand.

Now I call it shower gel, but it’s actually labelled for shower and bath in French. It doesn’t foam like crazy in the shower but if you use a terry cloth or even a loofah, it lathers very well. I can imagine it will lather up beautifully if running it in a hot bath.

The consistency is rather thick. It’s quite moisturising and I don’t feel any tightness after my showers. The whole bathroom is scented with the perfume after using.

If I have to complain about this, it’s that I wish it came with a pump. It’s not very convenient in the shower pouring it out everytime. But you can buy a pump for 0.75 euros and voilà, problem solved. The packaging is actually very clean and classy for this range.

All in all I’d say I like this but I’m not fussy when it comes to shower products. I don’t think I will repurchase this particular one again just because I prefer a runnier consistency and then there’s the lack of pump (and me being cheap in general) plus honestly, some days the scent is just too much for me. But I’m pretty sure this isn’t the last of the Yves Rocher shower products I try.

Here are the ingredients:

It’s a little blurry due to the curve of the bottle but the third ingredient is aloe.

Leave a Reply

