Bourjois BB Cream Foundation

 

I’ve had this post written for so long but never gotten round to taking the photos. Finally had time to do it and I’m glad to share it with you all at last.

Let me just get this out of the way, the new ‘BB Cream Foundation’ from Bourjois is not really a BB cream. It claims to be a ‘8 in 1’ product but most of their promises are results you get from using a foundation. It does have an SPF of 20, but then most foundations do. For me a BB cream is a good moisturiser with SPF that also performs as light-medium coverage foundation. The Bourjois lives up to the SPF and foundation part but I’m not sure if adequately moisturises the skin alone. So for those who are looking for a true BB cream, this isn’t it.

Swatch: heavy on the left and blended on the right
There are 4 shades available, I got it in 21 Vanille but could also use 22 Beige Dore. 21 is more suited to my winter complexion. Vanille is definitely pink-based.

It is housed in a plastic compact with a swivel mirror that turns 360 degrees. It’s the same compact they use for their Delice de Soleil Powder Bronzer, in the photos it’s the one with the brown case and brush. The foundation comes with a thin and filmsy sponge that reminded me of the disposable sponges cosmetic counters sometimes provide for free to swatch a foundation. Needless to say I got better results with my own sponge, you can safely throw the original one in the bin.
The product itself is a cream to powder foundation. It is lightly scented, not unsimilar to the fruity scent of the Healthy Mix foundations. I wasn’t bothered by the scent as it fades quickly. The coverage you get is light-medium. It does highlight dry, flakey patches. I do like it as a cheap, no-fuss foundation and I reach for it on days when I’m in a rush and when my skin feels a little too dry to use a powder foundation. #21 is a good match for me now when my skin is at its palest. It is a bit lighter than my face but matches my neck perfectly.
All in all it’s a decent foundation. It’s not spectacular and won’t wow you but it does its job and is convenient. If you can only buy or try one foundation from Bourjois, I will steer you towards the Healthy Mix range.
Leave a Reply

