January Empties

Astalift Eye Cream (15g)
Considering that I started the tube in July this item has lasted me quite a while. I haven’t bothered with eye creams before because I’ve used one tube too many that doesn’t do anything – and I don’t mean anti-age/wrinkles/fine lines etc type of promises, just basic moisturising. This eye cream moisturises well, I’ve noticed a difference definitely. And because of this the fine lines around the eyes look a little less intense than they did before. They’re still there mind (I don’t think there’s a cream out there that can erase them) but they look less crinkly. It would also help if I could learn to stop squinting and rubbing my eyes.

Repurchase? Yes

Chanel No. 5 Velvet Body Cream (6g) Sample
Can’t remember where I got this small jar from. I was sceptical but this turned out to be a very nice cream – texture is beautiful, very moisturising and the scent lingers the whole day. Seriously impressed with this, it’s a small luxury that I’ll consider indulging in the future. Something to look out for at the Duty Free when travelling.
La Roche-Posay Gommage Surfin Physiologique (50ml)
I’m trying a new scrub at the moment but this is one of those staples that I will always go back to.
Repurchase? Yes
Shiseido Future Solution LX Night cream (50ml)
I have used 3 jars of this over the years. Made in Japan, this is the most expensive cream I’ve ever put on my face (retails at around 260 euros in France). I got this in Hong Kong where it’s cheaper.
This cream is expensive but it really works. The only thing is you have to keep using it. I saw a difference in terms of plumpness and texture of my skin within the first couple of weeks when I used my first jar 2 years ago. I continued using it since but stopped sometime last summer when I was travelling (didn’t want to bring a heavy jar with me, plus my skin didn’t need the extra pampering) and saved whatever’s left in the jar for this winter. And I noticed again the difference it makes when I went back to this. Now if only they can do something about the price …
Repurchase? Yes but I’ll buy it outside of Europe
Astalift Jelly Aquarysta (60g)
I did a review of this here (there’s also a small blurb on the eye cream).
This jar lasted me from August to January. Not bad. I have a back up of this but I’m currently using the essence in its place – I tried using the jelly and essence one after the other but I felt it made them redundant and I don’t like applying too much stuff on my face. I’m happier using just one of them at the time. I’m actually liking the essence more.
Repurchase? Depending on what happens to my skin when I stop using the essence and the jelly. I still have a second jar so I’m in no hurry to buy.
 

Caudalie Vinosource Moisture Recovery Cream (3ml) – Sample
For dry skin, this cream has the soft smell you find in the Caudalie Vino range. I really enjoyed this small sample and I would definitely look into the range when I’m done with my stash.

La Roche-Posay Respectissime Waterproof Eye Makeup Remover (125ml)
Efficient and gentle makeup remover at a good price.

Repurchase? Yes, when I’m done with the current remover and the cleansing oils.

The Body Shop Earth Lovers Apricot & Basil Shower Gel (250ml)
The main thing with this is that it contains no sulphates, parabens, colourants and it’s soap free. Compared to the Caudalie shower gel I used before (and at the moment) the Body Shop one is thinner and very runny. The first few ingredients are: aqua, sodium lauroyl methyl isethionate, cocamidopropyl betaine, sodium chloride, glycerin, parfum etc. Body Shop seems to have some sort of deals going on all the time and I picked this up cheap in the store as part of a deal. You need to like the fragrance you’re choosing as it’s quite strong. 
Repurchase? No. I just don’t find it special/nice enough to buy again.
Leave a Reply

