Hits and Misses of 2012 – The Hits

Looking back the year I made so many purchases … it’s a little crazy but not quite out of hand, luckily. I’ve made many discoveries this year, tried new brands and what were for me new genre of products (highlighters for example). There’s almost an overwhelming amount of things I want to single out but I do realise I need to be selective and keep it streamlined. Even so I’m quite excited to gush about some of these products and you will find there are significantly more products in this entry than the ‘misses’, thankfully.

One last word on how I categorise, ‘Discoveries’ are not necessary instant favourites, however some of them do overlap into the ‘Hits’ category.
The products listed under ‘Hits’ are the real standouts that pop in my head instantly when I think about the topic. They are my ‘best-of’ and favourites of 2012.

Discoveries


La Roche-Posay Cicaplast
Perhaps my greatest skincare discovery of 2012, this is now my go-to SOS topical cream. I reach for this when I have peeling skin, flakiness or general tightness from the dry weather and it works like a charm.

Bourjois Magic Nail Polish Remover
I don’t know if Bourjois was the original innovator behind this but this has changed and improved the way I clean my nails. It’s fast, efficient and most of all I really like that it’s more environmentally friendly without the use of a million cotton balls to wipe polish off.

Kiehl’s Creme de Corps
I’m so late to the party it’s unbelieveable that only this year did I find out about the wonders of this cream. This has attained HG status during the year.

Shiseido Natural Finish Cream Concealor
A very tiny tube but a little goes a long long way. It’s very opaque, almost like a heavy coverage foundation. It’s creamy, easy to blend and really does the job when I have an angry zit or red spot that needs covering. You can also sheer it down with a tiny drop of moisturiser (I use the Cicaplast for this as the tube opening is tiny and precise). Wonderful product from Shiseido.

Giorgio Armani Eyes to Kill Silk Eyeshadow
Better late than never right? These are as good as everyone proclaimed them to be. Lived up to expectations. Pricey but very worth it.

Technique 1
Going over pencil/gel lined eyes with a complimentary eyeshadow powder afterwards to enhance the wear and ‘set’ it. I knew this before but rarely put it into use until last month. I don’t know what took me so long.

Technique 2
Contouring. I don’t do this everyday and when I do I don’t do the whole face, only areas like the corners of the forehead, sides of the nose and under the jawline and very very subtlety at that. I’m lucky to have been blessed with nice cheekbones so I don’t need much help there or I risk looking too gaunt. This technique leads me to …

Kevyn Aucoin Sculpting Powder
In medium of course, which is the only shade there is. I think this is the best sculpting powder I’ve seen so far. The best sculpting cream would be Tom Ford’s. My only wish would be to find a better brush to use this with.

Despite the launch of Chanel’s Notorious, which many bloggers have named to be the new best (and also hard to get), I’m afraid I have to differ as to be quite honest I have yet to see a good picture/video of someone using Notorious. I’m guessing it’s one of those products that’s got a high learning curve and a lot of time to get ‘right’.

I had my husband get this for me when he was in NYC and he renamed Mr. Aucoin as Mr. Auboncoin when he inquired the Barney’s associate as to where the counter is located. The lady kindly said they don’t have AuBonCoin but perhaps he meant Aucoin?

Btw Aucoin means in the corner in French and ‘au bon coin’ means in the right / good corner. It’s just a funny story that when it pops in my head makes me smile when I’m about to do some contouring.

Technique 3
Goes hand in hand with #2 I suppose: Highlighting! I was a sceptic but doing this really does make a difference.

Cleansing Oils
This is a rediscovery, strictly speaking. I will write another dedicated post on this in the future, but I’ve rediscovered cleansing oils as a gentle and efficient way to remove my makeup. No cotton pads too. It started with a bottle I got as a GWP from Sofina and I have recently purchased the famous DHC one when I spotted it with surprise at Monoprix the other day.

Kiko
They’ve been around for a while but it’s a fun brand I only discovered this year. Good quality, great selection of colours and very affordable.

Bourjois Deodorant Spray Deshabillez-Moi
Unfortunately the packaging of this tries to make it look like it’s a woman’s answer to seduction, kind of like the ads I see here for men deodorants enhancing sex appeal. The name means undress me. All that aside this deodorant contains no parabens and no aluminium. I bought this on a whim out of curiosity as I didn’t know Bourjois made deodorants (or shower gels for that matter), and it was cheap. In spite of the bad marketing this is perhaps the best aluminium free deodorant I’ve tried so far. It has a fruity floral scent (Bourjois sure likes fruity scents) and it stays true unlike the Nuxe. I smell the scent when it kicks in to work. I keep the spray at work so unfortunately I don’t have a picture of it.

Chanel Rouge Coco Shine in Boy
I’ve got nothing new to add to the numerous commentaries on this lipstick and shade except to say that it moisturises better than some lip balms (colourless and otherwise) I tried, and while Boy is not a unique shade it’s a no-brainer shade that’s universally flattering and one you can wear with anything.

Ilia
Not sure how long they’ve been around but Ilia is an organic brand I discovered in colette. I bought their cream highlighter ‘Polka Dots & Moonbeam’ which is becoming a fast favourite and I shall write a review on it shortly.

Hits and Favourites



Chanel Joues Contraste in Fleur de Lotus
This is without question the blush purchase of the year. Beautiful, beautiful.

Diorskin Nude Tan Healthy Glow Enhancing Powder
I’ve blogged about this in my Dior haul post. It’s not exactly a bronzer nor a highlighter but a product that yes, gives that healthy glow. A wonderful product you can use year-round and best of all, a permanent product.

Yves Saint Laurent Boreal Highlight Palette
A recent holiday purchase and now my favourite highlighter of the year. I’ve been reaching for this more than Kevyn Aucoin’s Candlelight, but to be fair they give two different finishes.

SANA Super quick gel pencilliner EX
Enough have been written about this here. I have not been so excited about an eyeliner before. Yes, I like this better than Armani’s waterproof.

Leave a Reply

