October Favourites

Bit late on the favourites post, but better than never right?

October was a slow month makeup-wise for me. I wasn’t tempted by the Fall collections so I’m afraid there won’t be any new colour products here. Instead I have decided to highlight some of the standbys that I like that I have been reaching for more. Paris has been wet, grey and cold for about a month now, it’s about to rain as I type. Apologies for the lighting in the photos.

Smashbox Photo Op Eye Shadow Trio in Filter
3 matte neutral shades, these have performed beyond my expectations. This trio is work and newbie friendly. There are no guess work involved you just swipe them on and you’re good to go.
Vanilla is an excellent all-over everyday shade that evens out the skin tone on my lids. I can see myself buying a single of this shade in the future if it’s available. Sable is the lighter brown and Sumatra is the darker one. I tend to go with Sumatra more as it’s more flattering on me but I have used them both together. The best thing about these is the quality, they are soft, pigmented and last all day without creasing. They performed well over a cream shadow base (I use Bobbi Brown’s Shore) and of course over a shadow primer (UD PP is my weapon of choice). I’m very happy I picked these up.

Weleda Créme Gommante au Bouleau / Birch Body Scrub (150ml)
From the website:

Gently exfoliates and smoothes the skin without synthetic detergents or aggressive agents. Natural plant wax pearls and pure plant oils gently massage the skin, supporting cell renewal. Organic birch leaf extract blends with the finest essential oils to regenerate the skin and the senses.

Weleda says this is a vegan-friendly product. The soap-free scrub smells like citronelle and it is refreshing and wakes you up. It is probably the creamiest body scrub I’ve ever used. The scrubs I’ve tried in the past has scrubbing grains/beads suspended in either a liquid that has the consistency of honey, or in a very fluid cream and the cream would pretty much disappear once you start applying to the skin. This creamy base from Weleda is thicker (but still light, if that makes sense) and it actually stays around for a while as you start to exfoliate. This makes the action a lot more gentle but no less effective. I’m really enjoying this one! It’s cheap as well.

Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua (30ml)
B30 is my winter shade and now that I’ve lost my tan I can wear this again. I know this is more of a summer foundation but I’m just enjoying how effortless it is to apply. I’ve been using this only where I need it, mostly the center of my face. It gives a decent amount of coverage (buildable) and I just apply and blend with my fingers. Sometimes I follow with a buffing brush. It’s another ‘put it on and go’ kind of product for me. Invaluable during workdays when I never seem to have enough time to prepare before needing to run out the door! The only thing about this that I like less is that it does highlight dry areas. But I have a solution for that at the bottom of this post.

MAC Blushes in Her Blooming Cheek, Gingerly and The Perfect Cheek
I’m sorry two out of these three are LE (HBC and TPC). HBC is a Satin formula, Gingerly a Sheertone (permanent) and TPC a Matte. TPC and Gingerly are two work-friendly or in-the-rush no-brainer kind of shades. When I don’t know what blush to wear I tend to use one of them. I wore TPC a lot when I first got it from the Marilyn collection, but I realise now I’m actually more fond of Gingerly. I also find that it’s easier to pick the colour up from Gingerly than TPC, which is a little dry and hard.

HBC is the blush I whip out for the cooler months. It gives the perfect just-in-from-the-cold kind of flush. If you want to mimic an après-ski look, a similar kind of fuschia or bright pink will do it (check out Chanel’s new Ultra Rose!!!) I tend to apply on the apples (instead of the cheekbones) and bring it whatever’s left on the blush brush after blending over the bridge of the nose as well. You do have to be careful not to overload the brush with HBC.

Laura Mercier Secret Brightening Powder (4g)
I’ve had this pot for eons and I don’t think I will ever need to buy another one. I’ve rediscovered this after organising my stash and remember how much I love it. I use this shimmery powder under my eyes over concealor (if I’m not already wearing another brightening kind of course). It sets the concealor and really does make a difference in diffusing the light in such a way that makes me look less tired. It’s amazing in photos.

La Roche-Posay Cicaplast (40ml)
Cicaplast is a skincare for ‘flaking, chapped skin’ and ‘post cosmetic peels’. Like most La Roche-Posay products it’s paraben and fragrance free. I have allergies and when the seasons change my nose act up and as a result the skin around it is often dry and flaky from all the wiping with tissues. I actually bought this by mistake but have been happily using it around my nose and lately on my lips because they too are starting to flake around the edges. I find that Cicaplast relieves the pain and smooths out the flakiness while accelerating the healing process. I also apply this over makeup if the foundation highlights dry patches. It’s something I’ve kept in my handbag for emergencies, like when I see a dry patch rearing it’s head I will just dab this on.

Leave a Reply

