Le Bon Marché exclusives

from tbm website

Le Bon Marché, the department store on the more sophisticated left bank of Paris, is celebrating its 160th anniversary. Of course, nowadays no celebration is complete without a special collection of limited edition designer collaborated items. But before I get into that, the lady you see in the picture above is Catherine Deneuve, drawn by Marjane Satrapi. There are a series of prints you can buy that come in a very pretty box and I believe the proceeds go to a charity for sick children. There is also a photo booth with this drawing of Catherine Deneuve that you can take a picture with. I’m not sure exactly what that means, maybe it’s super-imposed on the picture. 5 euros a pop. It’s like the photomaton you see in the metros, but a lot cleaner of course.

I happened to be at the Bon Marché today to indulge in my other hobby – knitting. Sad to say that after the renovation and relocation, they have reduced the selection and only kept the bigger yarn brands. There are bargains to be had though, well 20% off at least. Noro Silk Garden (yup!), Debbie Bliss Paloma range, lots of Rowan and Clover needles – it looks like they won’t be carrying Clover anymore. Anyway if you’re into knitting/craft and live in Paris, go take a peek. And while you’re there, you can have a look at all the exclusive items on the ground floor.

The area showcasing the 160th anniversary items is in the middle and goes all around the shop. It takes up quite an amount of space and there are lots of goodies to be had. One area shows the works designers reinterpreted with the graphics and colours of Bon Marché, paying homage to its history. The other area are exclusive designs for this particular event by iconic fashion houses and designers. Notable items (also very expensive) include a beaded Fendi bag at more than 3000 euros, that incorporates the design of the store’s iconic escalators, and a special Dior handbag in a very pretty burgundy/violet colour.

Beauty-wise, I saw special engraved and numbered Bois d’Argent cologne from Christian Dior, Serge Lutens offers engraved bottles of Ambre Sultain, there’s fracas, Killian and many, many other fragrances. There is a special edition Chantecaille compact, and one from byTerry. I can’t remember which one was gold and red, and had ‘160’ as part of the powder design. Clinique had a boring metallic pencil box of 3 chubby sticks from existing collection. Chunky cherry, the graped one, and maybe the raisin. I can’t be sure of the last one.

This page is from their online catalogue, it has the most beauty related items on one page.

Unfortunately the catalogue doesn’t have all the items nor or the colours they come in. But I did see some that I missed at the store. Like this Gaultier sailor jersey:

The printed T-shirts all have le Bon Marché mentioned somewhere. Isabel Marant has a cute hand-drawn one that at least seems to take more than 5 minutes to do, unlike Comme des Garcons’. But I digress.

I did pick up two things, a nail polish and a diptyque candle.

Nail polish by OPI in 24 Sèvres:

It is a classic red. The closest colour I have to this is Rimmel Professional in 323 Riviera Red. But 323 is more orange. I actually don’t have that many true red polishes. ’24 Sèvres’ reminds me of what my mother used to wear, or a Chanel lipstick. The name refers to the address of Bon Marché.

Here is the diptyque candle. I have always liked their candles (who doesn’t) but it’s been a few years since I last got one. My last one was either Geranium Rosa or Baies. I haven’t opened it yet but a quick search tells me this scent was released in 2009 for the holiday. I will take a photo of the jar when it’s opened, and I’m hoping it’s a pretty one.

Fans of Deneuve or lovers of Paris, here is a short video:

And a longer one:

Second part:

Leave a Reply

