September Empties

La Roche-Posay Toleriane Dermo Cleanser (200ml)
A very gentle face wash that doesn’t irritate the skin. See my intro on the Toleriane line here.
This is very similar to the Physiogel wash, only slightly thicker and more opaque. You’re meant to use it on dry skin. Be generous and gently massage the product into the skin, and rinse. On days when I exfoliate or use a deep cleansing mask, I will massage slightly longer than usual. It helps me believe that I’m getting the skin ready for some good cleaning. If I had a choice I prefer gentle foaming cleansers (I like the one from Nuxe) or ones that leave my skin feeling ‘clean’ but not stripped.

Repurchase? Doctor’s orders. But I have to admit I’m enjoying this more and more.

La Roche-Posay Toleriane moisturiser (40ml)
I wrote about this last month. I had two tubes going at the same time last month (was traveling) which explains why I’m going through this so quickly. One tube usually lasts around 2 months.

Bioderma Crealine Lotion (500ml)
Don’t think I need to say any more about this cult product. But! In case you missed my mention of it in the August Empties post (under the Chanel eye makeup remover), this does not remove my eyeliner. I use this as the first step in double cleansing, before washing my face with the Toleriane. It’s great when you’re trying out makeup or eye looks at home. No problem with eye shadows, only gel and other long-wearing eyeliners. I’ve been using this for 5 years now… but I might look for other options afterwards.

Repurchase? I’ll keep a travel size bottle even if I stray.

Cetaphil Intensive Moisturising Cream (85g)
Says on the tube it’s ‘for very dry hands, feet, elbows and knees’, a ‘rapid long-lasting moisturiser with Shea Butter’. Fragrance free.
I bought this during summer to compliment the Nuxe dry oil that I was using. The oil wasn’t moisturising enough alone for my feet and that’s where the Cetaphil helped. A decent, no-frills cream that does the job. Absorbs quickly and doesn’t feel greasy. I’ve been using it for my hands as well. If you have severely dry hands from frequent washing you might need a stronger cream. They make it sound like it’s industrial strength or something but sometimes I do find that I need to reapply frequently. I have crazy dry hands.

Repurchase? No. I like it but don’t love it.

NATIO Gentle Facial Scrub (100g)
I bought this a long time ago in Australia. Natio is like a drugstore brand. There is nothing gentle about this facial scrub. The particles are big and scratchy. I can’t believe I actually put up with it for so long. I have been using this on my body just to finish it.

Repurchase? No.

MAC Brush Cleaner (235ml)
This bottle has been with me for ages. I have a spray bottle with the cleanser diluted with water to spot clean my brushes, I also use it straight for deep cleaning them. I follow the instructions printed on the bottle: apply to damp brushes and work through. Rinse well, reshape and lay flat to dry.
This works really well especially with my gel liner brush.
I’ve read comments saying it can be harsh and will wreck the brushes if you use it frequently. I use this maybe twice a month on all my brushes (cheap and expensive ones) and haven’t had any problems.  I’ve used shu uemura’s cleanser before as well, many many years ago. They are pretty much the same thing, shu’s smelled more strongly of alcohol in fact from what I can remember.

Repurchase? I’m going to try making my own solution following a recipe I found. Will do a post on that when I do.

Leave a Reply

