Caudalie Huile Divine – Divine Oil

Nuxe’s cult product, the Huile Prodigieuse has been around since 1991. That’s 21 years! They say on their website that in 2012, one bottle of this golden liquid is sold every 6 seconds in the world. Anyway I finally tried this product over summer (you can read about it here) and enjoyed it very much. Nuxe wisely puts this in their travel set (reviewed here), you get a small vial of 10ml to try.

But this post isn’t about Nuxe. It’s about my new love Caudalie’s Divine Oil.

The packaging: A tall cylindrical glass bottle with a grape relief at the back. A wooden cap covers a spray nozzle.

From the Caudalie website:

This dry oil moisturizes, nourishes and enhances the skin thanks to its unique formula made with exceptional blend of oils (grape, hibiscus, sesame and argan) combined with our patented anti-oxidant Polyphenols. It envelops the skin with a subtle, floral and sun-kissed fragrance, with woody notes.

I didn’t plan on picking up a dry oil before 2013 (haha). But I did because I wanted a body moisturiser that dries instantly so that I could get dressed without having to wait. I tend to have heavier body creams at home and those are fine at night before bed. But when I take a shower after working out during the day I just don’t have the time to hang around butt-naked while it absorbs.

The reason I chose Caudalie (and not another brand) though, is because of the scent. I love this smell. Love it. If they sell a bottle of this perfume ….

[… actually I vaguely remember seeing it… I must explore this. Anyway.]

So, it has a similar base as Nuxe, a tropical floral, beachy scent. The difference is they added a woody note in the Divine Oil. And what a difference! It’s more sophisticated, elegant and grown-up. It actually reminds me of Dior’s Fahrenheit. Now I want to clarify that the only time I smell this fragrance is if some stranger happen to wear it and I catch the sillage. I don’t have a bottle to compare side by side nor can I confirm whether the two really does resemble, and I could be completely off for all I know. But I love the Dior and the first thing I thought when I smell Divine Oil is that it’s Fahrenheit without the motor oil, gasoline. Still sexy, but it’s softer and maybe cuddlier, especially towards the end when the impact of the wood recedes and I get more of the floral.

For the scent alone I will pick Divine Oil over Huile Prodigieuse.

Here are Divine Oil’s ingredients:

Vitis vinifera (grape) seed oil*, sesamum indicum (sesame) seed oil*, isoamyl cocoate*, coco-caprylate*, parfum (fragrance), ethylhexyl palmitate*, butyrospermum parkii (shea) butter extract*, helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil*, hibiscus sabdariffa seed oil*, argania spinosa kernel oil*, ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate (octinoxate), butyl methoxydibenzoylmethane (avobenzone), tocopherol*, ethylhexyl salicylate(octisalate), palmitoyl grape seed extract*, solanum lycopersicum (tomato) fruit/leaf/stem extract*, citric acid*, benzyl salicylate, linalool, hydroxycitronellal, butylphenyl methylpropional, limonene, citronellol, alpha-isomethyl ionone,geraniol. (107/078)

*plant origin

The Divine Oil is based on 4 main oils: Grape oil, argan oil, hibiscus oil and sesame oil. It also has antioxidants from grape and shea butter.
Notice that the perfume is pretty high up on the list.
No preservatives, silicones, parabens, phenoxyethanol, colouring, mineral oil.

And the ingredients of Huile Prodigieuse:

Isopropyl Isostearate*, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil*, Coco-Caprylate/Caprate*, Dicaprylyl Ether*, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil*, Corylus Avellana Nut Oil/Corylus Avellana (Hazel) Seed Oil*, Camellia Oleifera Seed Oil*, Parfum (Fragrance), Tocopherol*, Borago Officinalis Seed Oil*, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil*, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil*, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract*, Hypericum PerforatumFlower/Leaf/Stem Extract*, Solanum Lycopersicum (Tomato) Fruit/Leaf/Stem Extract*, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride,Benzyl Salicylate, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Citronellol, Geraniol, Hydroxycitronellal, Limonene, Linalool.

Huile Prodigieuse is based on 6 oils: Borage, St. John’s Wort, sweet almond, camellia, hazelnut and macadamia. 98% of the ingredients are natural, 30% of plant based precious oils. There’s also Vitamin E. No preservatives.

I didn’t mean to keep comparing this to the Huile Prodigieuse but it’s the only other dry oil I’ve tried so I guess it’s inevitable. But I really like the Caudalie Divine Oil, and I prefer it to Nuxe because of the scent, and the shape of its bottle is easier for me to hold onto. I also like that the oil isn’t as runny, I prefer this consistency. I feel like I use less product with the Divine Oil. Maybe because it’s thicker and spreads a little further before it dries?As far as hydration and results go, personally I find them to be quite similar at the moment.

Both are available in 100ml bottles, Caudalie is cheaper by about 5 euros.

I think this is a great alternative to Nuxe’s famous product, I’m liking it a lot. You really have to like the scent though, because it is quite strong (but not in a heady, nauseating way) and it lingers.

Lastly, there are many ways to use these multi-purpose dry oils. I gathered these from their sites:
– hair mask: spray on and massage at the ends of hair, leave in for 15 mins before shampooing
– relaxing bath: put a few drops in a running bath
– make your foundation glide: mix 1 drop in with your foundation
– boost your moisturiser: mix it in your regular moisturiser
– smooth and shiny hair: spray onto a hair brush with natural bristles and brush through
– use as a nail and cuticle oil

For now I’m still using dry oils as a body product. I will try using it on hair later but probably won’t use it on my face just because I recently had to see a dermatologist and am not ready to try that yet!

2 comments

  1. Hi, I accidentally broke the top of my divine oil and I cannot seem to find any resources oh how I can possibly fix this. It is practically brand new. Any helpful ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

    1. Do you mean you broke the cap? Or the top of the glass bottle? If it’s the bottle I suggest decanting the oil very carefully, making sure no broken glass particles are present before you start. You don’t really need a spray nozzle to use the oil, but if you prefer the convenience and you don’t have an adapted bottle, MUJI or other similar stores for example, sells spray nozzles. You just need to check if it fits the opening of your chosen new bottle. If you want a new cap, that’s another story 🙂 Good luck!

Leave a Reply

