KIKO – Lavish Oriental

I found myself in Italy in August, it was a trip we took on a whim. Because it was out of the blue I didn’t have time to do any research and went without any idea of what I should be looking out for. It was while I was there that I first saw KIKO, a popular Italian budget makeup brand. Every KIKO shop I saw was packed full of people. Since I prefer to do my makeup shopping alone anyway I only had a quick look around but didn’t buy anything (what was I thinking?)

Luckily, turns out they have two shops in Paris. The shops of course, are even more crowded here. But at least it is accessible, unlike Madina ….. Seriously, that is like my biggest regret.

Here are some items I picked up in Paris. Apart from the lipstick, these items are from their latest LE collection called ‘Lavish Oriental’:

1. Halographic nail lacquer (11ml) in #400, Steel Grey
2. Exotic Highlighter (5.5ml) in #01, Gold
3. Exotic Highlighter (5.5ml) in #02, Peach
4. Luscious Cream Lipstick (3.5g) in #507 Peach Rose
5. Lavish Lips creamy lipgloss (2.83g) in #04 Sheer Maroon
6. Lavish Lips creamy lipgloss (2.83g) in #06 Nude Rose

I’ll write about the lipstick in another post, because I have gotten another one since ….

picture taken from the KIKO website

The collection Lavish Oriental aims to express a ‘sophisticated and elegant femininity’. Colours tend to be on the warmer side with lots of coral, rose and wine. It’s a very practical collection in terms of colours and usage with some fun stuff thrown in.

picture 1. colours are closest to real shades in this picture

The Lavish Lips creamy lipgloss is KIKO’s interpretation of the Clinique chubby sticks. Everyone’s doing a lip crayon nowadays it seems. I don’t own any chubby sticks, but from the few times I tried them on my lips, I will say that these ones from KIKO are more pigmented, but perhaps a little less moisturising. They are not really that glossy, more like a sheer lipstick.

These are my favourite purchases from KIKO so far. I really like the two shades I picked up. Sheer Maroon is a sheer berry, YLBB; and Nude Rose is a brown rose with an apricot undertone. Both are great, easy colours that go with everything.

Swatches (Sheer Maroon is top, Nude Rose bottom):

this swatch is the closest for Nude Rose

I can’t seem to capture their real colours on photo. Nude Rose looks too ‘nude’ in these swatch pictures. It should have more red, look more rosy. Imagine a mix between the one in picture 1 and the swatches.
Sheer Maroon likewise lacks the red, the burgundy and wine nuances. If you can imagine a slightly less intense version of the colour in pic 1, you have Sheer Maroon.

The shades look really sheer on the arm but they pack more punch on the lips. Colour is buildable, but on my pigmented lips they look prettiest with a light hand.

I would have picked up the brighter red too (reminds me of two ton tomato chubby stick) but remembered I just got one of the Revlon lip butter in Candy Apple which I’m liking a lot. These KIKO crayons are also 6.90 euros and are unscented.

There are 3 gel highlighters in this collection, gold, peach and taupe. I couldn’t decide which was better so I got the gold and peach. Now that I had time to play with both I think the gold is more universal. They come in little pots of 5.5ml and look like a bouncy mousse but turns to a gel upon touch.

Gel highlighter with unexpected sensoriality that gives light to the face, eyes and decollete. Apply by blending with the fingertips. Ophthalmologically tested.

L: gold, R: peach

I think these highlighters are more suited for a night out. The formula seems to be a shimmer suspended in gel, so you’re left with a lot of shimmer when the gel dries on the skin. The shimmers are on the fine side though, not glittery at all.

Blending is easy, but you still want to work quickly, and a little goes a long way as it is possible to go overboard with this. This looked really promising in the shop but I find that it’s not subtle enough when applied on the face. I think the luminosity it gives is perfect in daylight/outdoor. But when I’m standing under a light it can look a little too much. Younger ladies however need not worry.

The last item I picked up from the collection is the halograph polish in #400 Steel Grey. They have 3 more shades, one is a champagne (I was deciding between this and the grey) and the other an electric blue and pink. This is my first introduction to halograph polishes and I’m completely mesmerised when the light hits my nails. Fast-drying but can be a little streaky. They dry to an almost matte finish. At least 2 coats.

I’m happy that we have KIKO here as they do have some quality products at very affordable prices. I wanted to get the lipgloss pots the other day (Olympics release) but they’re all gone, online and in shops. They seem to be repackaging some of their products at the moment. Lipsticks in older packaging are on sale, for example.

Leave a Reply

