June Favourites

Here are the standouts in June:

First up is the La Roche-Posay Anthelios AC sunscreen for oily to acne-prone skin. My skin isn’t really oily but I’m drawn to the matte finish it gives. I also bought their ‘regular’ formula for sun sensitive skin but I haven’t tried that one yet.
This is 30 spf, with UVA and UVB protection. Here are some information on the box: water-resistant, non-perfumed, paraben-free, photostable and non-comedogenic. It has a double anti-shine action in that it absorbs excess sebum and also regulates it. Their patented sun filter technology is called Mexoplex, for those interested.
In terms of texture, it’s pretty light. It’s not a cream but not as watery. Definitely not as runny as Japanese sunscreens, like one from Sofina (Beaute Day Protector) that I tried a couple of years ago. I have mixed feelings on Japanese skincare so I tend to stick with European ones in general. I haven’t had a problem with the Sofina sunscreen though.Now I haven’t been using sunscreens religiously. I know I should but I just never did and one of the reasons was I didn’t like how greasy my skin feels afterwards. Now that I notice more pigmentation on my face I’m finally starting to get the message that I really should start take better care of my skin. I really like this one because it doesn’t give that white cast, and on my skin it dries to a semi-matte finish, like your skin would look after normal moisturiser has been applied. Nothing shiney or greasy. I’ve sworn by Bioderma’s Photoderm max 50spf for the past few years when I’m on the beach or pool but that one makes my face white and feels greasy. But since I’m not someone who cares that much cosmetics-wise when I’m going swimming, and I know that it gives excellent sun protection (it literally saved my face when the rest of my body burned some years ago) I’ve always reached for it as my staple. I’ve always heard La Roche-Posay makes good sunscreen, and I’m glad I gave it a go. I’m going to wear this daily all summer! 🙂

La-Roche Posay Respectissime is a waterproof eye makeup remover that is very gentle and doesn’t irritate my eyes at all (I wear contact lens). I tried Lancome’s a long long time ago and remembered not liking it cos it felt greasy and it wasn’t all that impressive so I’ve written them off since.
I bought this on a whim wanting to discover their range. I have been using Chanel’s Demaquillant Intense (second bottle) which I’m very happy with. This works almost just as well as the Chanel, it comes very, very close but the Chanel is still just a hair better (more efficient, and it’s not in my head I swear!). Having said that I wouldn’t mind switching to this at all. It’s cheaper than Chanel and you get more as well. What’s not to love?

Aveeno Skin Relief Moisturizing Lotion – I love Aveeno moisturisers. I use it purely on the body and I have yet to try one that I don’t like. I get rather overwhelmed by the choices sometimes. This is the latest one I bought, I think it’s the most basic one and it’s wonderful.

The Nuxe Huile Prodigieuse I’ve already mentioned before. This is a special edition celebrating its 20 years. I bought this in a special box set that came with a tube of their creme fraiche. I’ve never bought the regular bottle so I cannot confirm if that’s a pour spout but this does come with a spray nozzle. I have only been using it on my body (not face) and at times rubbing whatever’s left on my hands onto my wet hair before blow-drying. It has a wonderful tropical smell and reminds me of going to the spa and relaxes me. Dries and absorbs super quickly on the skin. Lovely stuff really. I alternate this and the Aveeno depending on mood.

Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Gel Foundation is the surprise hit of the month. I don’t usually wear foundation, not because I have perfect skin – far from it. But precisely because my skin’s not that great I try not to stress it out with too many products. I picked this up mainly due to the raves I read about and since it’s cheap and readily available, I figured why not? 53 turns out to be a great match for me and it doesn’t oxidise. I whipped out my Sigma flat top foundation brush for this and it works beautifully. I’ve never had a chance to use this brush before – my other foundations work better with fingers – so it’s a double surprise. It just blends so well onto my skin, evening out the skintone, taking away the redness and so on. It gives a light coverage and the finish is semi-matte. I’ve seen youtube reviews where people say it’s dewy but my experience with it is always semi-matte, even if I do blend in with my fingers. There is a fruity fragrance which does linger a bit, but I quite like the smell. 
I use the Sigma brush in a press and twist action to really blend and buff the foundation into my skin. I find that this works best instead of just stippling and dabbling. Sometimes I’ll get a kabuki and do one last gentle buffing all around. But look, I made a drawing for this!
I’m so proud of myself hahaha. Anyway that’s it for June favourites.
…. Oh by the way, remember this?
I doubt anyone really waited for a verdict on it but I finally tested it enough to say that it sucks. Smears like crazy. It does have a very nice solid black but it just smudges like there’s no tomorrow, so much so that my man felt the need to say something about it. Luckily we were at home at the time – I always knew it smudged but I didn’t know the true extent of it until I decided to give it an extended test at home. Whatever’s left on my eyes didn’t budge afterwards and it was still quite pigmented though.
I haven’t even opened the other 2 eyeliners mentioned in that post. I will do it soon.
Leave a Reply

