Skincare Haul

Everything from Citypharma except the Nivea sunscreen and Bourjois foundation

Everyone knows about the Citypharma, the para-pharmacy that’s said to be the cheapest in Paris, sometimes up to 20% of a markdown. It’s in all the travel guides (I imagine) and all over the internet. I happened to just walk into it years ago without knowing its fame, as I used to live in the area and I would always walk past it while on my way to Pierre Hermé, and be intrigued by the non-stop number of people going in and out.

I have long since moved away but I still make the trek back there to stock up on skincare. It can be quite an experience doing your shopping there. You need to be ready for the crowd (and there is always a crowd): Tourists with long lists and over-flowing baskets, strong-willed old French ladies pushing their way through, and everyone else trying to get their stuff and get out as quickly as possible. I too, try to get in and get out but I always get distracted by something else … It can be quite discouraging when an aisle is completely congested, or the one particular area where a group has formed and stone-walled happened to be the shelf you need to go to. My only advice is to avoid going on a Saturday if you can. And maybe go early in the morning if possible. Sales associates in white robes (think Clinique) are very helpful, if they are not already helping someone else.

Look for their special promotion. For example, with summer almost here, there are lots of sunscreen offers, like boxed sets where you get an aftersun lotion for free with the sunscreen. I always look for pre-packed ‘Lot de 2’. Here I got their Bioderma Micellaire 2-pack, (somehow Citypharma always have them in packs of 2 stocked). One 500ml bottle is 9.90 euros (or thereabouts) but the 2-pack is 15.90 euros. I saw 3 other ladies carrying these when I was there.
Likewise the Embryolisse is a special 2-pack for 17.89 euros. I think one tube is around 10 euros.
Other items where they have consistent packs of 2 are deodorants, lipbalms, handcreams.

The other stuff I got:
Biafine aftersun lotion (bottom right); from La Roche-Posay: sunscreens, shower gel, waterproof eye makeup remover and Cicaplast cream. I haven’t really tried La Roche-Posay products. The only thing I have is their exfoliating gel, I will do a post on that.

I admit I got a little carried away with the sunscreens … I don’t know what I was thinking. I started with the Avène, then I saw the La Roche-Posay and got both formulas because of indecision. The Nivea was afterwards. Except for the Avène, all of them has a ball inside that you need to shake before use.

I also picked up the Bourjois Healthy Mix serum with the Nivea elsewhere.

Lots of products for future reviews!

Citypharma: 26 rue du Four, 75006.

Leave a Reply

